Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
AWESOME!! The kids ate them and they love regular buttermilk pancakes. The only thing I would change is to add more milk, I thinned the batter so they cooked all the way through. (my husband hates mushey pancakes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good. These have a deep nutty flavor and aren't very sweet. If eating for breakfast pancakes, you may want to add a tablespoon of brown sugar to the batter, but we liked them the way they are. We plan to have some for lunch toasted with butter and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I thought these were good. I used 1 c. mashed sweet potatoes. It is hard to tell how much it will be as some sweet potatoes are large, some are small- so 1 cup already mashed was good for us. I added 1 tsp. vanilla, cut back nutmeg and added cinnamon and a little pumpkin pie spice also. Tastes great with 1 TBSP brown sugar added, as well as some pecans. **You must thin this batter (all pancake batter) to a pourable consistency or you will have trouble. A pancake batter should bubble so that you know when to flip. After I flip them, I had to flatten these some with the spatula to be sure they were cooking all the way through. I did get them a little golden as they tasted better then and the smell was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Tastey. What a good use for leftover Thanksgiving sweet potatoes! I added more milk as necessary. Tried with and without a little added vanilla extract. It was good either way. We served with a little powdered sugar and maple syrup. I also added some sliced bananas to my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mama of four
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
A great recipe! WE LOVE IT! Kids said it tasted like pumpkin pie pancakes! The only thing I changed was to add a big teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix. We are big fans of butter so we didn't even cut it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made these for a Thanksgiving dinner side dish, hoping my kids would eat some "vegetables". What a hit! I used canned yams, drained, whipped them up in the food processor, then added each ingredient and blended well. Easy to and fun make, and the whole family loved it! Had leftover batter and made for breakfast the next morning. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Our new favorite pancakes - melt-in-your-mouth amazing! Even my sister, who hates sweet potatoes, loves and even craves these pancakes now (especially with Cinnamon Cream Syrup)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These were pretty good. Will probably make again. The only modifications I'd make: this time I used nonfat milk. Next time I'd use at least 2%. That was my own fault. They were a little dull with the nonfat. As for changing the original recipe, I think next time I'll add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Love these - I make a big batch on the weekend and keep them in the fridge for easy breakfast on weekday mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I love sweet potato pancakes, and this recipe was very good. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States