Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This was awesome! Add chopped pecans to the batter or sprinkle them on top for a real Louisiana flavor. We froze half the batter for later use, and it was even tastier than the first day. I think the key is to let it sit for a while to really bring out the taste of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This was soooo great. My mom grew some really giant sweet potatos and I didn't know what to do with them all. This recipe was wonderful! I even made them, placed them on a cookie sheet and froze them, then put them in ziploc bags, sonow when we want one or two (or for dinner) they are already made, I just have to nuke them for a moment or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I was tired of squash and bought a big yam and used this recipe. Normally, potato pancakes are my "thing" but I tried this recipe anyway. WOW. If yams are in season, this is my new recipe. I did everything according to the directions, but did cut back on the nutmeg by about 10%. Extreemly good. You'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I made this with canned sweet potatoes in syrup. I also added ginger and cinnamon to the batter. I used self rising flour and omitted the salt and levening. These turned out excellent! I am going to try it with canned pumpkin next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is my new favorite pancake recipe. They were very light. I used half a can of sweet potatoes in syrup drained and cinnamon, and they were just great!!! Even my three year old who doesn't eat anything if he thinks it contains a fruit or vegetable said they were "delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
What can I say! Last night I made Bea's Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole that I found on this site, so my sweet potatoes had brown sugar, orange juice, cinnamon, nuts, and a few marshmallows in them. (It was a good casserole) Well, I found this recipe and decided to make the pancakes to eat later... Anyhow, my 2 yr old and 5 yr old were watching me... we started snacking... then moved on to make it an early lunch. I stopped my 2 yr old at 5 pancakes and my 3 yr old at 3 pancakes! The recipe made 25, so I guess my size was right on. They were awesome! The kids ate them plain, I added butter and syrup. I HIGHLY recommend these. Thanks, Wendy, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Even got my picky 3 yr old to eat them. She swears that she doesn't like sweet potatoes! VERY YUMMY!! Freeze well!~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Best pancakes I have ever had. I occasionally serve them for dinner with fresh cranberry sauce or for breakfast with sausage. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adamstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Absolutely AWESOME! Great taste and consistency. Quick and easy to make. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Awesome! Very light. The only change I did was to use the food processor for the wet ingredients - I found mashing a somewhat firm sweet potato cumbersome (even after boiling for 20 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naches, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States