Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
These were wonderful! Would be great for Thanksgiving time especially. I made two modifications to cut down on the fat: used only 2 Tbl. butter and used skim milk. I thought there was too much nutmeg flavor, so next time I will reduce to 1/4 tsp. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and will definitely do that again. Note that 3/4 lb. potatoes is the same as 2 1/2 cups cut up (in case you don't have a scale). I peeled and cut the potato into chunks before boiling, so I omitted the skin removal and mashing steps (they mashed very easily when blending with a mixer with the other ingredients). I mixed all wet ingredients with the potatoes in one bowl, then mixed all the dry ingredients in another bowl, putting them together at the end. I did have to add more milk (almost 1/2 cup) to make them more spreadable. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I decided to try altering this recipe and it was great (adults and kids alike!). Instead of the 1-1/2 cups flour - I used 1 cup flour and 1/2 cups rolled oats. (seemed to really hold well and have a fluffy pancake - tasted great too!) I also added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp pure vanilla extract. We served it w/cinnamon sugar butter and all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This was awesome! Add chopped pecans to the batter or sprinkle them on top for a real Louisiana flavor. We froze half the batter for later use, and it was even tastier than the first day. I think the key is to let it sit for a while to really bring out the taste of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made the recipe as written. These pancakes were awesome. I wasn't sure what 3/4lb of sweet potatoes comes out to so I used one cup mashed sweet potatoes and that was perfect. This recipes is a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the butter, used whole wheat flour, used 1/2 cup oats in place of 1/2 cup flour, and added about a 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla. I put the batter in the fridge over night and added a little extra milk in the morning. The first batch I made tasted doughy in the middle so the next batch I took the back of a spoon and spread out the batter. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I made this with canned sweet potatoes in syrup. I also added ginger and cinnamon to the batter. I used self rising flour and omitted the salt and levening. These turned out excellent! I am going to try it with canned pumpkin next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This was soooo great. My mom grew some really giant sweet potatos and I didn't know what to do with them all. This recipe was wonderful! I even made them, placed them on a cookie sheet and froze them, then put them in ziploc bags, sonow when we want one or two (or for dinner) they are already made, I just have to nuke them for a moment or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
These were so good! As other reviewers mentioned, I added 1 TB sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. I also mixed all the wet ingrediants in a food processor, it was so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Delicious num numms!!! Made this with my kids. it ended up as brunch b/c it took so long but it was delicious. i added vanilla and extra cinnamon per advice. they were tender and yummy. i was a bit worried about eye-ing 3/4 of a lb. of sweet potato so i did one large and one half of a meduim and that worked fine. i pricked and nuked my potatoes in the microwave for 15 minutes, that made them just right. then i just opened them and scooped the insides out so i skipped the cold water thing.it was fine. i had my 2 yr old add the milk and vanilla too cool the potatoes b4 adding the egg. worked out great. If you find that your pancakes are rubbery its b/c you mixed them too much. mix it until just combined well then leave it. oh, i also let the batter rest about 30 min. per other reviews. We ate it with homwmade applesauce so minus the syrup. I wouldnt make it again for a normal breakfast b/c of the time it took but i can see doing this (minus the kiddies) for a bring-a-dish affair
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Even got my picky 3 yr old to eat them. She swears that she doesn't like sweet potatoes! VERY YUMMY!! Freeze well!~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States