Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I really enjoyed these pancakes. They didn't come out as sweet as I had hoped, so I compensated with a dollop of whipped cream. That did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St. Pauli Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Delicious! I mixed the wet ingredients in my food processor and left them in the fridge overnight; in the morning I added the dry and cooked up these pancakes in bacon grease. Loved it, didn't change a thing! Thanks for a cool recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were SO good! I used canned sweet potatoes and I added some sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla extract as others suggested. My boyfriend said they were delicious!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Use one up mashed sweet potatoes (canned or fresh would work fine). I used only a dash of nutmeg and added some cinnamon. Vanilla would also be a good addition. Very tasty and fluffy pancakes. Delicious fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great flavor! The batter did not cook right. The measurement of sweet potatoes is hard to judge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thurmont, Maryland, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are fantastic, another way to enjoy sweet potatoes without the gushiness and butter. I topped them with a simple drizzle of confectioner sugar+milk and they were to die for. I wish my wife liked sweet potato, as I'd make these monthly! A fantastic recipe and a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I went super decedent with these by adding some candied pecans on top. The only modification was I used cloves in place of the nutmeg (I find the flavor to usually be overpowering). I was in the mood for some soul food, and these hit the spot. I'd be interested in serving these as a savory dish sometime. Has anyone tried it? Perhaps with some sage butter or something of the like, I could see them working with a protein... just a thought :) I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_jama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good but too salty. Next time I will use 1/2 the salt. Also I used 1/2 of the milk and used yogurt for the rest. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this recipe as stated 2010/10/14. This is a good jumping off point. Boiling the sweet potato didn't produce an intense flavor so there was only a hint of it in the pancakes. The nutmeg was very strong and helped overshadow the flavor of the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Rose
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
To enhance the taste of the pancakes, I add a tsp of vanilla & sugar. I also added pecans to the batter & sprinked on top of the pancakes w/ maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States