Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I thought these were okay but my boyfriend loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and mine turned out mushy -- like eating mashed sweet potatoes with syrup on top. Not bad if you're expecting mashed sweet potatoes, but we were expecting pancakes. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I love making these. I do follow other's advice about cutting back the butter and nutmeg and adding vanilla and cinnamon. I also use whole wheat flour for about 1/2 to 3/4 of what the recipe calls for. Great way to sneak in veggies for the little one too (2 yr old daughter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T. The end result: there is waaaay too much baking powder in this recipe. Even after I put honey AND maple syrup on it, all I could taste was the baking powder, more so than the sweet potato. I like the idea of a sweet potato pancake, and I'm going to continue looking for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartleeshy
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I loved these! They were actually the best, most mouth-watering pancakes I've ever eaten! I halved the recipe, I didn't have any nutmeg so I didn't add that and I added 1/4 tsp of Allspice, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract. Also, I used canned sweet potatoes (not the kind that come pre-seasoned) and they still tasted amazing! The batter is very thick so I smoothed them onto the griddle with the back of a measuring cup. And I topped them with homemade streusel topping! I will DEFINITELY be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made these as written, they are a good way to use up sweet potatoes and a change of pancake type. They were dense but did cook all the way through (read other reviews.) I cooked them slowly to make sure they cooked through. Can taste the nutmeg pretty strongly. Couldn't actually taste much sweet potato though. Next time I would find a way to make them fluffier- buttermilk or separate eggs and whip the whites. And, cut the nutmeg and add cinnamon. But, a good way to add some extra fiber and health to pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Yummy! I did alter it a bit - it was breakfast time and I was missing ingredients. I did the whole wheat & oatmeal combo suggested elsewhere (1 c. & 1/2 c. respectively). And then I didn't have enough milk so I used Greek yogurt mixed with milk - about 50/50. It was thick so I added more milk. Also I had started the potatoes in the microwave (another recipe) so I finished cooking them that way. It was easy to just scoop and one less step and pan to wash. Did all the wet stuff in my mixer and then added the blended dry stuff. They did turn out very wet/dense but we thought it was a good texture. So I don't know how it should have tasted but it was yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were delicious. They weren't great the first time I made them but that was my fault; I added too much sweet potato. Follow the measurements and you should be fine. I made a few variations my second time: I added cinnamon, vanilla extract, and pecans. The pecans add an amazing touch. Even better when topped with honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Excellent! For those that thought they didn't cook through, follow the directions. These are NOT regular pancakes! You have to use only 1/8 cup batter on med-low heat, or they will be gooey and raw. And 1.5 pounds of sw. potatoes was perfect! That's about 3 med. sized sw. potatoes. I mixed up the batter the night before and it was so easy in the morning. Delicious with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We had leftover baked sweet potatoes, I'm so glad I found this recipe so I could use them up! I shredded them instead of mashing. Then we had some light coconut milk to use up, about 3/4 cup. So I substituted some of that for regular milk. Then added cinnamon and vanilla as other reviewers suggested, and cut back on the butter. Heavenly! Who needs syrup, these are great plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States