Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Tastes like Christmas and a great change-up for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
So moist, fluffy and filling! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
So good! Used buttermilk, added cinnamon and, used 1/2 whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
YUMMM! These are great! I served them with a cinnamon honey butter. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyleandali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
They taste great and are so much more filling than traditional pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I also microwaved the sweet potatoes, added 1 teaspoon cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. Everyone raved. I served them with a Pecan Praline Syrup. Everyone loved them and had several requests for the recipe. My sons even requested them for Christmas breakfast this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were great! I wouldn't do the boiling thing again tho. I just throw them in the microwave. It's alot easier. Plus I used cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made these for dessert, and the leftovers I had for breakfast. Wonderful with butter and a cinnamon-sugar mixture sprinkled on top. You could use this recipe with squash, pumpkin, or carrots, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
These were very dense and filling. I added a little vanilla and brown sugar. I think next time I'll use yams (for the orange color) and add chopped pecans or walnuts. We didn't have maple syrup, so my boyfriend put a little whipped cream cheese and rasberry jam on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
What a great idea!! I can't believe I haven't made these before! I made a few alterations and probably will again the next time I make them. I used sweet potato puree from Trader Joe's (saved a TON of time) and used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of regular. The batter was very thick and didn't "lay" on the hot pan so I increased the milk to at least 2 cups if I wanted any movement on the pan. I also subbed in cinnamon for the nutmeg and added about 2 tsp vanilla (yum!). I also cut the salt in half (I can always taste it in pancakes). But one word of advice: note that the finished pancakes are EXTREMELY moist due to the milk and s/p. So I ended up burning several of mine thinking they weren't done yet :P They were, but the pancake does not develop the firmness of a traditional pancake. When done, it even "gives" when you press on it. And it will not "bubble" nearly as much as a regular pancake, too, so check it sooner than later to flip. Since there is no sugar in the batter, you have a bit more freedom to have fun with the toppings. But I just topped it with some organic whole milk french vanilla yogurt. My kids loved it! It looked like icing! :) I may put in a 1/4 cup sugar next time and just top with butter (they are super tasty and don't need much!). But overall, I will definitely be making these again...way healthier than regular pancakes and a fun treat for the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States