Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
What a great idea!! I can't believe I haven't made these before! I made a few alterations and probably will again the next time I make them. I used sweet potato puree from Trader Joe's (saved a TON of time) and used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of regular. The batter was very thick and didn't "lay" on the hot pan so I increased the milk to at least 2 cups if I wanted any movement on the pan. I also subbed in cinnamon for the nutmeg and added about 2 tsp vanilla (yum!). I also cut the salt in half (I can always taste it in pancakes). But one word of advice: note that the finished pancakes are EXTREMELY moist due to the milk and s/p. So I ended up burning several of mine thinking they weren't done yet :P They were, but the pancake does not develop the firmness of a traditional pancake. When done, it even "gives" when you press on it. And it will not "bubble" nearly as much as a regular pancake, too, so check it sooner than later to flip. Since there is no sugar in the batter, you have a bit more freedom to have fun with the toppings. But I just topped it with some organic whole milk french vanilla yogurt. My kids loved it! It looked like icing! :) I may put in a 1/4 cup sugar next time and just top with butter (they are super tasty and don't need much!). But overall, I will definitely be making these again...way healthier than regular pancakes and a fun treat for the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used three smallish sweet potatoes and that seemed to be about right. I followed the recipe exactly and tast tested. After that I added almost 1/3 cup sugar, couple dashes cinnamon and some chocolate chips to the batter. My kids loved them. Oddly enough, they tasted a bit like french toast. Very good and a little healthier than regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
What a GREAT use of potatoes. I used yams instead of sweet potatoes (because that's what I had). My children are DEMANDING "more pancakes mommy!" I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These pancakes were great. Even good without any syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were great start. I made a few modifications, by adding flax seed to the mix. They have become our standard breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessica777
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
i made these with sweet potatos from my garden! i 1cup of unbleached flour, 1/2 almond meal, low fat organic milk. i also added cinnamin and vanilla. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Made these without telling the picky 8 year old visiting our house what was "in" them. Plate returned to the kitchen wiped clean, with the exclamation, "These are the best pancakes I ever had!" 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
A new favorite in my house! Easy to make and a different dish than regular pancakes. To cut time I make the potato's the night before as they are the longest part of the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
My husband and I LOVE THESE! We had sweet potato pancakes at a restaraunt on a roadtrip once, and I've been searching for a recipe like it. This is even better. We top ours with cinnamon and agave! Beats all other pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great and kids love them. Just a little labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States