Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
these are very good wth maple syrup and whipped cream. taste like sweet potato pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! Like others though I used canned sweet potatoes in syrup (when little ones wake up at 6am it's just easier on me) added 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground ginger and 1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg. I've cooked these quite a few times both with pumpkin and with the sweet potatoes and my family LOVES them!! In half the pancakes I like to add slivered almonds or pecans too. Thanks so much for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I had to cook them on lower heat for a longer time so that the insides would cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
these were really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is one of our favorite kid-friendly dinners. We found using all whole wheat flour still tastes just as good. Guests can't believe how good these taste with no added sugar and no white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
YUM! Cut nutmeg in half bc I don't like it as much, added cinnamon and a couple tbsp sugar, as recommended by others. Left the batter in the fridge over night (def tasted better the next day). Before cooking, added milk to thin it out until it was spreadable, prob 1/2 a cup more. The batter tasted salty, but the pancakes did not. So don't dismiss salty batter! Cooked smallish, thin pancakes on low heat, didn't have any burning or mush issues, but they do take some time. Also - left little lumps of sweet potato (not well mashed) and I was glad I did, it added a nice texture! Served with Blueberry Breakfast Sauce from this site. Next time we'll eat them with cream cheese and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
They were just OK. My main problem with these is that although they were well browned on the outside, the inside was soggy. Maybe you have to make them real small. The other thing is you really don't taste the sweet potato too much. It's a shame because I thought these would be tastier and healthier than regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I was so excited to find this recipe. Other than peeling and cutting the sweet potatoes before boiling them, I followed the recipe as written. I loved the texture and flavor (I thought about adding cinnamon, but in the end, I'm glad I didn't; I think it would have covered the sweet potato too much). I cooked the entire batch and froze the leftovers to enjoy as a quick breakfast on weekday mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNOUSCHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Followed recipe to a T and they were delicious!! I added a little cinnamon the second time I made them and they were also delicious. This will be a regular recipe on our lazy Sunday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Used white sweet potatoes and subbed spelt for the flour, earth balance for the butter. Very moist and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States