Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
PERFECTO! I am picky when it comes to Horchata, but this recipe is right on. Great refreshing drink for those summer days. Highly recommended. Way to go Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I thought this horchata was really good. I love horchata and I just always figured it would really hard to make. I'm such a terrible cook but this recipe worked for me. I was really surprised. It came out tasting just like horchata from the mom and pop taquerias. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I am a bit of an Horchata connoisseur and this is by far the best recipe to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is the best horchata recipe I have ever found. I found that ground cinnamon floats on the top so I let 2 cinnamon sticks soak with the rice and water for 3 hours. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
really sweet, but sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha715

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
wonderful! I used my coffee grinder to grind up the rice before soaking because my blender is broken and the food processor didn't do the trick. It worked great. Also I made a syrup of the last cup of water, sugar, cinnamon and cinnamon sticks and then added it to the rice water. It seemed to help the sugar and cinnamon mix better that way. Oh and don't throw out the rice. It's perfect for Creamy Rice pudding (recipe on this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
709 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was much better tasting than I thought it might be. It's like drinking rice pudding. This went so fast at our party that I wished I made more. The bottom of the pitcher was a lost glassful due to the spices and rice bits at the bottom. We used brown rice instead of white rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshineTeam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good, taste just like traditional horchata. I added a little more extract then the receipe called for. Next time I will stick to the receipe. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was my second attempt at making Horchata and the first was from another recipe that i got for allrecipes.com. The first was a muddy mess with no milk and no flavor. Lol's horchata is delicious im drinking it as we speak. I really find it great. a little sweet but i love sweet. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
The Horchata recipe is so good that is all my kid wants to drink (in his bottle.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States