Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I have since made this 3 times and found the trick to perfecting this the second time around! Here's my recommendation for "authentic" homemade horchata: put 1 1/3 cup rice in the blender - add about 2 cups of water and 2 cinnamon sticks and blend until the rice and cinnamon are roughly ground. Add the remaining water and blend thoroughly. Pour into a pitcher and place in the refrigerator to soak (overnight is best) - or at the very least 4-5 hours. Strain the mixture through a sieve. I doubled the amount of milk called for - and about half the sugar (a generous 1/3 cup as I like my horchata not too sweet) and a generous splash of vanilla. PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
wonderful! I used my coffee grinder to grind up the rice before soaking because my blender is broken and the food processor didn't do the trick. It worked great. Also I made a syrup of the last cup of water, sugar, cinnamon and cinnamon sticks and then added it to the rice water. It seemed to help the sugar and cinnamon mix better that way. Oh and don't throw out the rice. It's perfect for Creamy Rice pudding (recipe on this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
673 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is the best horchata recipe I have ever found. I found that ground cinnamon floats on the top so I let 2 cinnamon sticks soak with the rice and water for 3 hours. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
474 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Wonderful!! I did, however, follow a few reviewers suggestions and I also changed the servings to 10 since I needed a larger amount for a party. I found that the flavor was better the longer it sat, so I served it the following day. There was a lot of undissolved cinnamon, but I found the perfect solution to be straining the entire mixture through a coffee filter just before serving. Because it sat overnight, the flavor was still full, but you did not get mouth-fulls of undissolved cinnamon with each sip. What I consider the perfect measurements for 10 servings is the following: 1-2/3c uncooked white long-grain rice; 8c water; 1/2c sugar; 1-1/2t ground cinnamon; 2c milk; 3/4c+2T sweetened condensed milk; 2-1/2t vanilla extract. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I had to really change this recipe to fit my taste...This one is way too watery and the cinnamon did not mix well..from now on I will always use cinnamon sticks to soak in the rice water. Also it doesn't even make enough to fill a pitcher, so I added like 3 times the milk (because I like it thick)and also very important...I ground the rice a LOT because I like it a little gritty....it just depends how you like your horchata...I like mine rich and thick....if you do too add more milk and ground the rice a lot and it will turn out good...you can still use 1 cup of rice to start off with and adding more milk makes it soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I am a bit of an Horchata connoisseur and this is by far the best recipe to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My family loves horchata and we drink it all the time in restaurants so I was excited about making it at home. However, I'm not really thrilled with how it turned out. I only used a half a cup of sugar and it was still really sweet, like horchata is sapposed to be. The problem with this recipe is the cinnamon. The drink turns out brown, not white like in the picture. And I had to skim a lot of cinnamon off the top because it wouldn't blend in. The taste was pretty much right on, just a little more watery then we're used to. I'm going to experiment with boiling cinnamon sticks in the water and then blending it with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Best horchata recipe Ive tried, but I would use 1/2 as much sugar and if it's not sweet enough add more sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This went over really well with my coworkers. It is relatively simple, and I made with part cream to add a slightly thicker texture since I use skim milk. I also used a cloth tea bag for the cinnamon so that the spices wouldn't change the color or texture of the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I thought this horchata was really good. I love horchata and I just always figured it would really hard to make. I'm such a terrible cook but this recipe worked for me. I was really surprised. It came out tasting just like horchata from the mom and pop taquerias. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States