Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Good recipe! In the absence of a blender, we used a food processor to chop the rice. It didn't work terribly well, but our horchata still tasted lovely after three hours of sitting. Next time we'll use a blender for the rice and use whole milk instead of skim for a richer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RibbonMunky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Easy to make and delicious. A million times better than the powder mixes! It's as good as the stuff the local mercado makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was much better than OK, but not great. I don't have white rice in the house, just brown, so that's what I used. I decreased the sugar, but it was still a bit too sweet. My husband liked it but said it was thin, so I'll adjust here and there - little less sugar, more milk or try a milk/cream mixture. I am also going to try it with homemade almond milk (1/4 c. almonds to 1 c. water in the blender) and use a bit of agave nectar instead of the white sugar. Definitely a keeper with a few tweaks. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwbrenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
AWESOME!! Turned out great! I changed slightly based on previous reviews. I put in 1 1/3 cups rice along with 2 cups of water and a heaping half tablespoon of ground cinnamon and blended for a few minutes. Then I added the last 3 cups of water. Let it sit in the fridge overnight. I strained the mixture with a cheesecloth then put liquid back in pitcher and added 1/3 cup of sugar and a splash on vanilla and a whole cup of milk. Served in a glass with ice. Went over terrific! Best Horchata I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I dont know if I did something wrong; i dont think so; but the flavor was not to my liking. I let it soak overnight hoping it would be better, but in my opinion it tasted better when I only let it soak for 3-4 hours. Also, this is way too much water; the flavor is immensely watery. I wouldlike to try making it again and find a way to perfect the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnhoward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Narrows, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
was really good but by the second day in the fridge it got all gooey and i had to throw it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I'm a terrible cook... but this was delicious! :D Thanks for sharing, all my other attempts without a recipe were fails, haha...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
As others suggested...I soaked cinna sticks with rice and reduced sugar. It turned out great. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breleficent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. I used soy milk instead of regular, and it came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I have made this recipe two days in a row. I made a few adjustments. First, I soaked the rice over night in four cups water, one can evaporated milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract, and two cinnamon sticks. Then, I blended the mixture. I have found that evaporated milk really brings out the flavor of the horchata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States