Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Delicious and ohhhh soooo simple! I will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Went over very well at our taco bar. People couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I have never had horchata before, so I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe. However, I am fully prepared to tell you that this is DELICIOUS! I took the advice of other reviewers and soaked two cinnamon sticks with the rice. I also cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup. This was sweet enough for me! Very delicious recipe -- one I will absolutely make in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Fun to make with the kids. They like using a blender. We let sit for 5 hrs. before mixing milk ++. Must shake well. Next time I will use less cinnamon. Just start slow with the adding to your taste. Makes 1 qt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My sugar didn't dissolve, should've made a syrup first. but still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great drink. I changed it a little, but this is a fabulous base recipe. As suggested by another reviewer, I used whole cinnamon sticks instead. I mixed 1 1/3 cup rice, 2 cinnamon sticks, and 2 cups a water in a blender and blended. Then I added 3 more cups of water and blended a whole lot more. I poured it all into a pitcher and let it soak overnight--the time came out to about 17 hours by the time I got around to finishing it. I strained the mixture, then doubled the milk and added it. I actually more than doubled it just to finish off the jug--so about 1 1/3 cups. I used only 1% milk and I might use less if it was 2% or whole milk. Then I added 1/2 tbsp of vanilla like instructed which was plenty. I added half the sugar and tasted it--way not sweet--so I added the other half. I think it's a little too sweet for me now so I might just do 1/2 cup of sugar next time instead of 2/3 and see how that goes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My kids love this stuff. It is great and refreshing--just like the ones they sell at Mexican restaurants. Will make over and over again. Thanks, Lola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a great horchata recipe, and I always drink horchata at mexican restaurants. I increased the serving size to 10, and the pitcher was still only 2/3 full. I would recommend substituting the cinnamon for cinnamon sticks. Just put about 3 cinnamon sticks in the rice/water mixture and let that sit for as long as you can (I did 7 hours). The longer it sits, the better flavor you get. Followed the rest of the recipe to a tee (used 2% milk), and its great... you can really taste the cinnamon, and you don't have to worry about what all the other reviewers complain about -- cinnamon floating on the top and not mixing in. :) With the cinnamon sticks, there's no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
First up, I'd just like to say that this is a fantastic recipe. However, there is one thing I'd change, and that's the amount of cinnamon used. 1/2 Tablespoon is WAY too much. I used 1/2 a teaspoon, mixed it up in the blender, and scooped off the excess cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Wonderful. So easy and so refreshing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States