Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I LOVE Horchata, but I had never made it before. I was really excited to come across this recipe! Upon the suggestion of other reviewers, I used 2 cinnamon sticks instead of the ground cinnamon. I love the cinnamon flavor and this adds so much to it. Also, I let mine soak overnight in the fridge instead of a couple of hours before I strained it. Soooooo worth it, because it was soooo good. Needless to say, I did not realize making it from scratch was so easy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent! My inlaws will never believe that this "white girl" made this! So excited to serve it at our next family function!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Delicious and ohhhh soooo simple! I will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Went over very well at our taco bar. People couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I have never had horchata before, so I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe. However, I am fully prepared to tell you that this is DELICIOUS! I took the advice of other reviewers and soaked two cinnamon sticks with the rice. I also cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup. This was sweet enough for me! Very delicious recipe -- one I will absolutely make in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Fun to make with the kids. They like using a blender. We let sit for 5 hrs. before mixing milk ++. Must shake well. Next time I will use less cinnamon. Just start slow with the adding to your taste. Makes 1 qt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My sugar didn't dissolve, should've made a syrup first. but still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great drink. I changed it a little, but this is a fabulous base recipe. As suggested by another reviewer, I used whole cinnamon sticks instead. I mixed 1 1/3 cup rice, 2 cinnamon sticks, and 2 cups a water in a blender and blended. Then I added 3 more cups of water and blended a whole lot more. I poured it all into a pitcher and let it soak overnight--the time came out to about 17 hours by the time I got around to finishing it. I strained the mixture, then doubled the milk and added it. I actually more than doubled it just to finish off the jug--so about 1 1/3 cups. I used only 1% milk and I might use less if it was 2% or whole milk. Then I added 1/2 tbsp of vanilla like instructed which was plenty. I added half the sugar and tasted it--way not sweet--so I added the other half. I think it's a little too sweet for me now so I might just do 1/2 cup of sugar next time instead of 2/3 and see how that goes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My kids love this stuff. It is great and refreshing--just like the ones they sell at Mexican restaurants. Will make over and over again. Thanks, Lola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a great horchata recipe, and I always drink horchata at mexican restaurants. I increased the serving size to 10, and the pitcher was still only 2/3 full. I would recommend substituting the cinnamon for cinnamon sticks. Just put about 3 cinnamon sticks in the rice/water mixture and let that sit for as long as you can (I did 7 hours). The longer it sits, the better flavor you get. Followed the rest of the recipe to a tee (used 2% milk), and its great... you can really taste the cinnamon, and you don't have to worry about what all the other reviewers complain about -- cinnamon floating on the top and not mixing in. :) With the cinnamon sticks, there's no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States