Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe was perfect! The others I've read seemed too time consuming and fancy. I just wanted what I could get at a typical cheap and fast taqueria and imagined they didn't want to take 8+ hours for a batch. This came out soooo good! Just as I remembered from the magical first try over a decade ago :) Thanks Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Well this was an interesting recipe and fun to try... I added the cinnamon to the rice in the blender to flavor the water but strain it clear... It did seem to work and it come out clear... I ended up adding a little extra milk and cutting back on the sugar.. It did seem to turn out good though... Who would have thought to make a drink from rice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I followed Serena's suggestions using 1c vanilla almond milk in place of regular milk, and it turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbettell20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We like this, especially when adding a shot of rum to it! One of us is diabetic so we used soy milk and Splenda and it was just as tasty. The only problem I encountered was that I don't have a blender. I used my food processor and it made a terrible mess! Not deep enough I guess. I also cut back on the cinnamon just a titch, but that's a personal preference thing. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I've tried horchata in Mexican restaurants, and I LOVED it! I've been trying to find a good recipe for it, and so far, this one is the best! I added a little more milk for it to come out thicker, but you can adjust it to your taste and it'll still be delicious. Great recipe, thanks for sharing. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
SOOO goood and easy! Who knew? I will be making this regularly im sure as my man and his son really loved it, as did i!! I even used Soy milk for my bfs sensitive stomach! A+++ Must try! OH I also used Cinnamon sticks and soaked them with the rice water, no cinnamon probs that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Followed a previus reviewers advice and Added the rice and 2 cups of the water to the food processor then slowly added the rest of the water. Then placed in the fridge overnight. Next day....I used two cinnamon sticks..I added almost 2 cups of milk and used homemade vanilla sugar to sweeten. My family inhaled this horchata. So dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Really good. Next time I'll use a little less sugar and cinnamon. I tripled the recipe, which made about 1 gallon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made this using another reviewer's suggestion of halving the sugar (also subbed agave for refined white sugar) and grinding rice and cinnamon sticks beforehand. Best to soak it overnight. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States