Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
It was really yummy however when I first made it and drank it it just tasted really dirty so the second time I made the horchata I washed the rice throughly and then blended it and it was much better but besides that it was very similar to my grandmothers and hers is amazing!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I carefully read through dozens of reviews so I could make this as tasty as possible. I used the coffee grinder to grind the rice and it doesn't take very using this technique FYI. I grinded the rice with cinnamon as well. I let it soak all evening before straining the rice water and adding in the rest of the ingredients... I also just added sugar to taste per recommendations. I also had 3/4 of a half gallon of whole milk around so i just dumped it all in the pitcher and sweetened to taste. Pretty simple and quite refreshing! Oh and use a coffee filter for the rice mixture, SO much less hassle then straining the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was awesome. I would probably put in less cinnamon but definitely double this recipe! Delicious and just right! I did let mine site overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I made some adjustments, I doubled the recipe, used 3 cinnamon sticks soaked with the rice water over night. I also double the amount of milk, because I thought it was too watery. But it turned out fabulous!! Loved it! Definitely use cinnamon sticks to soak with rice water over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Good, but leave out the cinnamon. Too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
i followed this recipe down to the t and I LOVE IT!!! i hate that i have to wait a while since you have to let it sit for a bit, but its worth it! my bf practically has to beg me to make it! we compare it to king tacos since that where they make our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KillerQueen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Puente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Saw another reviewer used COOKED RICE and did not strain it.. has anyone else tried this? Don't want to waste anything.. and I don't like rice pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Good recipe! In the absence of a blender, we used a food processor to chop the rice. It didn't work terribly well, but our horchata still tasted lovely after three hours of sitting. Next time we'll use a blender for the rice and use whole milk instead of skim for a richer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RibbonMunky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Easy to make and delicious. A million times better than the powder mixes! It's as good as the stuff the local mercado makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States