Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Followed a previus reviewers advice and Added the rice and 2 cups of the water to the food processor then slowly added the rest of the water. Then placed in the fridge overnight. Next day....I used two cinnamon sticks..I added almost 2 cups of milk and used homemade vanilla sugar to sweeten. My family inhaled this horchata. So dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Really good. Next time I'll use a little less sugar and cinnamon. I tripled the recipe, which made about 1 gallon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made this using another reviewer's suggestion of halving the sugar (also subbed agave for refined white sugar) and grinding rice and cinnamon sticks beforehand. Best to soak it overnight. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Great recipe. I used 2 cinnamon sticks that I steeped overnight along with the rice, and cut the sugar to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I make this all the time. We like creamier hochata so we add a lot of milk and I do add a little more rice. I also let it soak over night that way it gets more flavor and the cinnamon doesn't seem so gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenellesmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I loved it, the rest of my family not so much - but I didn't make it for them :) I did double the cinnamon, because I love it so much, and halved the sugar for the second batch, and I loved it even more, but my family still didn't like it, their loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Yummy. Made this using suggestions by Serena and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
i would rate this 5 stars but PLEASE use cinnamon sticks. I thought it didn't matter but it makes a HUGE difference. Also make sure you use long grain rice. The long grain rice blends very nicely with my oster blender. The better blending (I blended mine 2-3 times) of the rice the thicker the horchata. I practically did not strain out ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Strickland09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The flavor of this is so good. I only gave it 4 stars because my husband and i think that it is a litte to thin. I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I LOVE Horchata, but I had never made it before. I was really excited to come across this recipe! Upon the suggestion of other reviewers, I used 2 cinnamon sticks instead of the ground cinnamon. I love the cinnamon flavor and this adds so much to it. Also, I let mine soak overnight in the fridge instead of a couple of hours before I strained it. Soooooo worth it, because it was soooo good. Needless to say, I did not realize making it from scratch was so easy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States