Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
i would rate this 5 stars but PLEASE use cinnamon sticks. I thought it didn't matter but it makes a HUGE difference. Also make sure you use long grain rice. The long grain rice blends very nicely with my oster blender. The better blending (I blended mine 2-3 times) of the rice the thicker the horchata. I practically did not strain out ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The flavor of this is so good. I only gave it 4 stars because my husband and i think that it is a litte to thin. I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I LOVE Horchata, but I had never made it before. I was really excited to come across this recipe! Upon the suggestion of other reviewers, I used 2 cinnamon sticks instead of the ground cinnamon. I love the cinnamon flavor and this adds so much to it. Also, I let mine soak overnight in the fridge instead of a couple of hours before I strained it. Soooooo worth it, because it was soooo good. Needless to say, I did not realize making it from scratch was so easy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent! My inlaws will never believe that this "white girl" made this! So excited to serve it at our next family function!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Delicious and ohhhh soooo simple! I will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Went over very well at our taco bar. People couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I have never had horchata before, so I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe. However, I am fully prepared to tell you that this is DELICIOUS! I took the advice of other reviewers and soaked two cinnamon sticks with the rice. I also cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup. This was sweet enough for me! Very delicious recipe -- one I will absolutely make in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Fun to make with the kids. They like using a blender. We let sit for 5 hrs. before mixing milk ++. Must shake well. Next time I will use less cinnamon. Just start slow with the adding to your taste. Makes 1 qt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My sugar didn't dissolve, should've made a syrup first. but still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great drink. I changed it a little, but this is a fabulous base recipe. As suggested by another reviewer, I used whole cinnamon sticks instead. I mixed 1 1/3 cup rice, 2 cinnamon sticks, and 2 cups a water in a blender and blended. Then I added 3 more cups of water and blended a whole lot more. I poured it all into a pitcher and let it soak overnight--the time came out to about 17 hours by the time I got around to finishing it. I strained the mixture, then doubled the milk and added it. I actually more than doubled it just to finish off the jug--so about 1 1/3 cups. I used only 1% milk and I might use less if it was 2% or whole milk. Then I added 1/2 tbsp of vanilla like instructed which was plenty. I added half the sugar and tasted it--way not sweet--so I added the other half. I think it's a little too sweet for me now so I might just do 1/2 cup of sugar next time instead of 2/3 and see how that goes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States