Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My daughter, the horchata fan in the family, loved this! I made mine with double the milk, since I used FF, and when I ground up the rice (1/2 brown and 1/2 white because that's what I had) in the blender I also added 2 large cinnamon sticks in lew of the ground cinnamon (I doubled the entire recipe to make a gallon) and added a few (maybe 7-10?) whole allspice. Next time I'll add probably 2 more cinnamon sticks, since I can't get enough. But my daughter loves it as is. And I just topped off the pitcher with water. Oh and I used 1c of Splenda in place of the sugar. Thank you for this recipe! Now I'm making rice pudding with the strained rice/spice mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Loved it!!! Just made it I'm glad I found this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
very interesting, made it in the evening and tasted in the morning, was very surprised! although I made just 1 big glass and substituted the milk with 10% cream it was worth it. I am going to make a bigger portion now for my friend to visit me. The taste reminded me of tapioca pearl in Coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiternik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This recipe was excellent! My sister and I loved the taste and we had so much fun making it. We think it's even better than in restaurants! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend who is crazy about horchata. He loved it! I prefer to use cinnamon sticks to flavor while the rice soaks just because I don't like the floating pieces. Amazing recipe though, thank you! (FYI don't use cinnamon sticks from stores that leave them out in the air. Wasted multiple pitchers to those sour sticks! I'd advise getting air sealed ones if possible.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Couldn't resist taking a sip while it was still warm and mmmmmmm....can't wait to try an ice cold glass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I found this version to be very heavy-handed on the cinnamon, and it did not strain well at all. It formed a sludge that clogged up the cheese cloth, reducing the flow to a dribble. I'd probably try reducing the cinnamon down to a half teaspoon or so, and soaking roughly pre-ground rice in water for a longer period. The only other home-made horchata I've tried so far is David Lebovitz's adapted version from Paletas, found on his blog(verdict: a little on the sweet side, but otherwise delicious and without the same problems as this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I made this yesterday and it turned out delicious. It was very easy to make. I love cinnamon so I added extra! Everyone here enjoy it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Very very good recipe! I enjoyed it a lot and so will others who try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Delicious when left to soak overnight and strained the next day. The quality of vanilla really makes or breaks this beverage--it is wonderful with a good vanilla, but worthless without vanilla or a cheap vanilla. My son calls this "special milk".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States