Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! I have made it twice the first time it was only "ok" until I realized that I forgot to add the vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Followed top rated review came.out perfect only thing i changed was sugar i used all it called for and next time.doube recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was delicious! I used reviewer Serena's modifications, and I couldn't have been more pleased. Just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My daughter, the horchata fan in the family, loved this! I made mine with double the milk, since I used FF, and when I ground up the rice (1/2 brown and 1/2 white because that's what I had) in the blender I also added 2 large cinnamon sticks in lew of the ground cinnamon (I doubled the entire recipe to make a gallon) and added a few (maybe 7-10?) whole allspice. Next time I'll add probably 2 more cinnamon sticks, since I can't get enough. But my daughter loves it as is. And I just topped off the pitcher with water. Oh and I used 1c of Splenda in place of the sugar. Thank you for this recipe! Now I'm making rice pudding with the strained rice/spice mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Loved it!!! Just made it I'm glad I found this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
very interesting, made it in the evening and tasted in the morning, was very surprised! although I made just 1 big glass and substituted the milk with 10% cream it was worth it. I am going to make a bigger portion now for my friend to visit me. The taste reminded me of tapioca pearl in Coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiternik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This recipe was excellent! My sister and I loved the taste and we had so much fun making it. We think it's even better than in restaurants! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend who is crazy about horchata. He loved it! I prefer to use cinnamon sticks to flavor while the rice soaks just because I don't like the floating pieces. Amazing recipe though, thank you! (FYI don't use cinnamon sticks from stores that leave them out in the air. Wasted multiple pitchers to those sour sticks! I'd advise getting air sealed ones if possible.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Couldn't resist taking a sip while it was still warm and mmmmmmm....can't wait to try an ice cold glass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I found this version to be very heavy-handed on the cinnamon, and it did not strain well at all. It formed a sludge that clogged up the cheese cloth, reducing the flow to a dribble. I'd probably try reducing the cinnamon down to a half teaspoon or so, and soaking roughly pre-ground rice in water for a longer period. The only other home-made horchata I've tried so far is David Lebovitz's adapted version from Paletas, found on his blog(verdict: a little on the sweet side, but otherwise delicious and without the same problems as this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States