Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Really good. Add a can of evaporated milk as well and it will be as good as you can find at any Mexican home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
could be better with more milk because it was a little too watery. but i added a little bit of whip cream on top which made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
While I've drank plenty, this was my first attempt at making horchata and I must say, I am pleased with the result. After reading too many reviews and too many other recipes, I settled on this one. As with some other reviewers, I used a long grain BROWN rice, blended the rice with 2 cups of water with 2 broken cinnamon sticks for about 30 seconds. Then added the 3 remaining cups of water. I use a Vitamix so I used care not to pulverize it too much. My rice, water, cinnamon blend actually sat overnight and a workday in the refrigerator. I used evaporated milk and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup using turbinado sugar. I love cinnamon and vanilla (Mexican blend) so I added double the suggested amount. Because my mixture was cold, I put it all back in the blender for a few seconds to help the sugar dissolve. It went back in the fridge for another overnight. Seems like too long to wait, I know. But it was well worth it. For health reasons, I will stop consuming dairy products so the next time I make it I will use Almond milk. This way, I won't feel deprived of the a sweet "dairy" treat! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe is good but if you add 8 ounces of evaporated milk it makes it richer and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Using Serena's adaptations, I enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this recipe and it tasted too watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I thought this was very good but too sweet. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was still too sweet. The only other change I made was that I used almond milk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe is perfect!!!I used half a cup of half and half in place of milk and then added a can of evaporated milk. It came out delicious!! It's rich, creamy and refreshing. Tastes just like the Horchata I grew up drinking in Mexico :)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
My son loves Horchata. His Spanish class (4th grade) made it one day and he didn't like so he volunteered to bring some in. We searched for a recipe...decided on this one and it was a HIT!! All his classmates loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States