Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made "as is" and was perfect! I made a batch with vanilla soy milk for boyfriend, and was still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Really good! The one change I made - and I felt it was an important one - was to blend the rice water mixture after soaking as well (so I blended it both before and after the soaking period). This way, the rice has softened and blends more easily, giving the water more flavor. Otherwise it came out way too watery. The other changes (more milk, less sugar, etc.) are really just a matter of personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is the bomb! A little on the sweet side but very delishes and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe, but should steep a bit longer at room temperature (I suggest overnight) before mixing in the milk. FYI: Great with rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great recipe I followed the videos directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronwyn Radle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I'm amazed by how easy it was! It was creamier than the stuff we've gotten at restaurants. At first I used a coffee filter, but that was way too slow. A sieve worked fine to strain out the rice. Thank you, Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Turned out pretty good! I changed the recipe by using 1/4 cup of half and half and 1/4 of skim milk. I also added only a half cup of sugar and it was still plenty sweet! My blender couldn't fit all of the rice and water so I had to do two "batches" that I later combined. I only let my rice soak for 3 hours and it still turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made some changes... I used 6 cups of water and two cups of milk and two whole tablespoons of vanilla extract. I did not blend the rice in, only let it boil until almost a mashed consistency and then I drained the rice water from the rice. I let two cinnamon sticks sit in the mix while it was cooling down and added a little more powdered cinnamon to taste. I let it sit for a few hours and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved it. I can add more milk to make it less sweet or drink it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. The only alteration I make is that I put half of a cinnamon stick in with the rice and water. During the 3 hours, I will occasionally pulse the rice, water, and cinnamon. (BTW: It's great with a splash of good, dark rum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States