Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Delicious. I use 1 teaspoon cinnamon and blend it in with the rice. Three hours is not long enough to soak, though. I recommend soaking overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
our first ever taste of Horchata and it was great! We'll use the cinnamon sticks next time, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe! It's actually better than what you find in a Mexican restaurant because they tend to water it down a bit to stretch it out. Nothing is better than this on a hot summer day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ
Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good recipe!...I used Jasmine rice with this recipe and it came out very good!...also I found that you really don't have to wait 3 hours...I waited 1 hour and 30 minutes and it still had a very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious! so much tastier than the slimy restaurant versions I've had. I have made it 2x now, cutting back on the sugar to 1/2 c, and adding in lime zest instead of vanilla. I love this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Best Horchata out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe was extremely watery. I let the rice sit overnight and doubled the milk and it still wasn't the same consistency as horchata I have had in the past. Not to mention the cinnamon globe that form from the ground cinnamon. That is easily remedied by soaking a cinnamon stick with the rice, but, again, the texture was off on this. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I thaught that this tasted very good. I have only had this at a local restaraunt and this tastes just a little sweeter. I will be making it alot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe is okay. It's decent, slighty sweet. Let the rice really soak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Taste just like the ones I would get back in AZ! I have made it exactlly as written and I have also follow reviewers changes about using cinnamon sticks and reducing the sugar by 1/2. I liked them both, I will make like the reviews say though just cause I didn't miss the sugar, it still tasted great and using the cinnamon sticks made it so the cinnamon didn't clump together in the pitcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States