Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Turned out pretty good! I changed the recipe by using 1/4 cup of half and half and 1/4 of skim milk. I also added only a half cup of sugar and it was still plenty sweet! My blender couldn't fit all of the rice and water so I had to do two "batches" that I later combined. I only let my rice soak for 3 hours and it still turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made some changes... I used 6 cups of water and two cups of milk and two whole tablespoons of vanilla extract. I did not blend the rice in, only let it boil until almost a mashed consistency and then I drained the rice water from the rice. I let two cinnamon sticks sit in the mix while it was cooling down and added a little more powdered cinnamon to taste. I let it sit for a few hours and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved it. I can add more milk to make it less sweet or drink it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. The only alteration I make is that I put half of a cinnamon stick in with the rice and water. During the 3 hours, I will occasionally pulse the rice, water, and cinnamon. (BTW: It's great with a splash of good, dark rum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I've never made horchata before, but this recipe was fab! A little sweet, but cutting down on the sugar solves that problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I took Serena's advice and added more rice and changed up the recipe a little. I used Jasmati rice, which gave the horchata a slightly floral hint in the undertones, plus I put in ground cinnamon instead of the cinnamon sticks. Throughout the time it sat out at room temperature, I would periodically pulse the blender and mix everything back up again. When it was done, I put it through a Greek yogurt strainer, which got out quite a bit of the excess cinnamon so it wasn't so sludgy on the bottom. I also used extra vanilla (probably 2 or 3 tablespoons) and more milk. Next time I'm going to try cardamom in the mix to see what that does. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzi m

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! I actually ran out and covertly replaced it with some Kern's Boxed Horchata. My oldest daughter (6) tasted it (the Kern's) and said "Eww - this doesn't taste good". But my wife couldn't tell the difference. I really liked it too. Excellent rice and cinnamon flavor. The vanilla and milk set this recipe apart from other recipes. However, I modified the recipe a little: Used 1 c. of water with the 1c of rice in the blender. I added a cinnamon stick to the blender and omitted the ground cinnamon. I added 3 more cups of water (not 4) once pulverized. I stirred it up and let it soak overnight and all day in the fridge. I added 1/2 c. sugar and mixed it in. I didn't have a cheesecloth so I just used two bowls to drain off the rice water, preserving the water and throwing away the stuff left in the bottom. I repeated this step 4 times. I noticed some sugar in the crud so maybe next time I will add the sugar later. I increased the milk to 1 c. Added 1/2 t. vanilla and served over ice. I only got about 2 cups of horchata (before milk) from my 4c. of rice water, but maybe I would have had more if I had used a cheesecloth. No rice grit in the final product. Very smooth and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Really good. Add a can of evaporated milk as well and it will be as good as you can find at any Mexican home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
could be better with more milk because it was a little too watery. but i added a little bit of whip cream on top which made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States