Libby's® Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
This is such a hit-light and tasty! The only thing- MAKE SURE you use a "jelly-roll" pan, otherewise it just doesn't turn out right. Too much cream cheese wasted pouring out the sides. You might also think of adding some liquor to the dough, mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasha_n_kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Wow! I loved this recipe. Has a nice mild pumpkin flavor that is perfect for autumn! I thought the cream cheese filling was delicious. I will definitely make this again! It wasn't too hard to make either and looks pretty also. Definitely worth the effort! I think I might be addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
Fantastic! I served this to a family of notorious "picky eaters" at a family gathering last night. Even those who said that they weren't "into" pumpkin loved it. I made mine with pumpkin from my garden that I had cooked in the crock pot. This pumpkin roll also freezes very well. I can tell you that this is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This was such a hit last year everyone is begging for another one this year, and it has become a trademark dessert for me to make. WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I have made this dozens of times. It's best with more spices: 2 t. cinnamon, 1 t. pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 t. nutmeg. This is my all time favorite recipe! I think I'm invited to so many holiday parties just because people want me to bring this pumpkin cheese roll. BE SURE TO USE PARAFIN PAPER ON YOUR PAN- this sticks like crazy! Also be sure to ring out the towel very well, and don't undercook the cake. If this is too moist it will stick to the towel and you'll have a mess. Roll the finished cake tightly in plastic wrap, and it will keep it's shape nicely as it chills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
My husband is always asking me to make a this pumpkin roll. He took one to work and it was devoured within an hour! I found that parchment paper works wonderfully to keep the roll from sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Very quick and easy! The family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This is an awesome recipe -- I've been making it for years. It's really not that hard, just time consuming. This year I substituted maple extract for the vanilla in the filling and it was truly EXCEPTIONAL. The maple flavor was a perfect complement to the pumpkin. I will always make it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
My family loves this sweet, delicious use of pumpkin. I add raisins (instead of walnuts) to the batter which gives the roll a chewier consistency. For those who don't want to buy a jelly roll pan, I've had success using a regular cookie sheet and folding the parchment paper up to make up for the shorter sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This recipe turned out wonderful after I made a few alteration's to suit my tastes. I had problems with it the first time I made it with the cake cracking when I rolled it up and ended up with more cake on the towel than on the cake. So I added more flour, 1 cup plus a TBSP or 2 and I alway's increase the spices when I make anything with pumpkin just because I think it makes it taste so much better, plus with these rolls more spices makes the cake a little darker which I like. And I also did not roll the cake up as soon as I inverted it onto the towel I let it sit for about 5 min., then I rolled it up. And I unrolled it when it was lukewarm and I had no problems when I rolled it back up with the frosting on it. One thing I recommend is not using all the frosting because it ends up coming out the sides and all over the towel and just making a mess in the end. I think it is too much frosting if you use the whole amount recommended. I refridgerated the remaining amount for quite a while until I made another one and it tasted fine.So if anyone had the problems I did try it the way I did and see if you have better result's. It is probably just me though, everyone else's was probably fine, I'm just glad I finally got one to turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States