Libby's® Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this for an office luncheon this past week and everyone loved it. I did roll it differently than the directions state (which I won't be doing again!) based on someone else's review. I dusted the roll with confectioners sugar and rolled in parchment paper because I didn't have a towel handy. The sugar melted and made it even stickier, so it was harder to work with, but it tasted great. Next time I will just use a towel. I also put the cream in the fridge after preparing because I find it is easier to roll without it spilling out. Edited to add: made this again for thanksgiving, I rolled in Parchment paper again and didn't dust with sugar, roll came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made a pumpkin cake roll. I switched the cloves for nutmeg, and bumped up the cinnamon for 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Other than that slight change I kept it the same. This was amazingly easy to prepare and made for a stunning presentation, It was exceptionally quick to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I upped the spices per the other review and increased flour per another review. Mine cracked, so I think the extra flour was not a good idea. Maybe stick to 3/4 c. I put my silpats under the batter and that worked very nicely to get them out, except I ended up with a big bubble under it that made a thin spot in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Easy to make, but way too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learningtocookandbake

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
First time making a roll, and it turned out great and yummy. I just followed the recipe and used a damped towel to roll it first after taking it out from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
this is my all time favorite halloween/thanksgiving recipe....you can also add walnuts to either the cream cheese filling or batter before baking....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is one of my all time favorite desserts. Haven't met one person who doesn't rave about it and I've probably made several dozen of these over the years. For those who found it too dry or difficult to roll (cracked/crumbled) you have to be really carefull not to overbake it or it will get tough and/or the edges will get crispy and crack when you try to roll it. I double the spices because I like a lot of spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious! Don't be intimidated by the roll its easy...just follow directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSS0508

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I originally found this recipe on the can of pumpkin and had been asked to bring dessert to my first Thanksgiving at my new mother-in-laws house. I thought I'd make a test batch to keep at home, but the first try turned out so good I ended up using that one! It was a huge hit at dinner, so I made another one the next day for a get together with my family. Another winner. That was four years ago, and this has become my "signature contribution" to every family meal from Thanksgiving til New Years. So easy to make, yummy, and an instant family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made a low-cal version that saved 972 calories, 54 carbs, 96 grams of fat, and 785 grams of cholesterol and it turned out great! I used the following as substitutes: 3/4 cup eggbeaters instead of eggs, 2/3 cup granulated sugar & 8 packets Truvia, 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped, low fat cream cheese, 6 tablespoons smart balance. If you use the truvia be sure to keep some sugar in the recipe and to bake at a lower temp (350 worked for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States