Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this in the crockpot, it took about 6 hours and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This wasn't flavorful at all. I imagine it would be better with beef boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The soup is great but after making it a few times I've taken out the tomatoes and vinegar as it seems to hold its taste better stored in the refrigerator. I've also added some potatoes cut into 1 inch cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Mough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING! I doubled the recipe leaving out the spinach and vinegar and added a pound of Jimmy Dean sausage. I saw the meat in the picture and thought it might be sausage...so...it is the BEST lentil soup I have EVER tasted!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have made this over a handful of times. We double the seasoning and substitute lemon juice or the vinegar. Nom nom nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I increased the spices, added sausage, and added green onions. It was fantastic and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
T thought this recipe was awesome. I had my own chicken broth made and used that instead of water. I had 10 cups of broth and wanted to use it up, so I added two extra carrots, 1 cup of spinach, doubled the spices and used balsamic vinegar. I used the same amount of lentils. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I doubled the garlic and spices since I like flavor and those who doubled didn't have any complaints. I added a couple of extra carrots and replaced 6 cups of water with chicken broth. BTW, 2 cups of lentils happens to be a 16 oz bag. I changed the plain vinegar to balsamic because I love it and couldn't resist adding the 3 tablespoons of port wine because I love it too! My salt and pepper to taste ended up being a tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. I didn't add spinach because I was planning to have leftovers and didn't think it would hold up well. I used a hand held wand to puree about half of the soup to make it thicker. I think this soup is much better the next day, so I highly recommend making it the day before. It just barely fit in a 4 qt pot, so you might want to set your sights on something bigger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used butter instead of olive oil, chicken broth instead of water, and kale instead of spinach. I also used fresh herbs instead of dried (triple the amount of herbs called for when using fresh instead of dried). It was delicious! If broth is not used, I would add at least a teaspoon of salt with the water. Otherwise it will be incredibly bland. I still needed additional salt to taste at the end using chicken broth. With my changes, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I absolutely love this soup!! I used organic vegetable broth instead of water and I chopped up 2 Roma tomatoes instead of adding canned tomatoes. I did add the cumin as I love cumin in soups. Totally tasty and good. Also since I didn't have spinach I used kale and a few left over leaves of escarole. It was very tasty especially when I topped it off with the balsamic vinegar and fresh parmesan cheese. Hearty and filling, definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States