Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This was good. I did have to add chicken stock to help the flavor, very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I doubled all the spices and I still was not a fan . I used four cups water & four cups vegetable broth and it became way too thick to be considered a soup. It could be that I may not like lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jhay Cen
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This recipe is amazing! I didn't have basil and spinach available at the time so those were skipped. I did make a slightly different version by putting together top 2 reviewers reviewer. I added 4 cups chicken broth and 4 cups water. Then 3 tablespoon of lemon. I then added a cup of potatoes and italian sausages towards the 30min mark. When finished i topped with handful of cilantro and man it was heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jhay Cen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
My whole family enjoyed this. I added leftover Easter ham so that added some wonderful flavors to the mix. As others have recommended, I added lemon juice in lieu of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This is a fabulous base recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Enjoyed it. Will make again. Added some chicken base and baby kale, but otherwise followed. Would probably be good not matter what you wish to add. Never heard of adding vinegar before. Used balsamic as suggested. Nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This is a great lentil soup. I add homemade chicken broth for more flavor and I just add the amount of ingredients in the recipe to my liking (which for me is more spinach and more seasonings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This is a great recipe, but having said that I have made lentil soup for years and am always up for new additions, suggestions. I always soak my lentils the night before to speed the cooking process. This time I used 1 pkg of orange lentils I had on had. These cook much faster than green lentils. I always start with a base of 3 stalks finely chopped celery, 1 finely chopped onion, 3 cloves minced garlic, 3 bay leaves, (during last hour I add: 5 small diced carrots and 1 large diced potato.) I heat some olive oil in a 6 quart dutch oven, sautee onion and celery on high heat, then add garlic and lower heat. This time I added 1-1 1/2 tspn. cumin, 1/2 tspn. coriander, salt & pepper and the juice of 1 lemon versus the vinegar. Added lentils to pot, 6 cups chicken stock with 2 cups water. 1 12oz. can tomato puree. I let this simmer for 4-5 hours until the lentils break apart. I placed in a separate bowl 1/4 of the lentils and pureed until smooth, then poured back in pot. This makes for a nice combination of smooth and whole lentils which I love. I have to say the cumin, coriander and lemon juice made this lentil soup outstanding!!!! Very nice earthiness especially with the orange lentils which are more 'nutty' in flavor but in a subtle way. Keep adding these spices until you like the flavor...I always taste as I go when cooking. I was sooo impressed with these spices, the soup was very warming and the lemon juice gave it a great depth of flavor. This was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Just made this for dinner and really enjoyed it. I added 1tsp of Lemmon juice since I am allergic to vinegar and it worked well as a substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made this recipe twice in the last two weeks and will continue to make it. It is the best soup I ever tasted. My husband loved it also. It is vegetarian and gluten free and healthy. I did not have a bay leaf, so I omitted it. I used balsamic vinegar. I also subbed frozen spinach for fresh. When I first made this recipe, I thought what is vinegar doing in soup, but it made all the flavors come together. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States