Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Very good! This was my last attempt to make something delicious with lentils and this is by far the best lentil soup I've ever had. I love the crunchy parts of celery and carrots. I cut it in half for dinner for two and still had leftovers. I loved the flavor the white wine gave--I used Riesling. And I didn't use parsley because I had none, and the soup was still delicious! I will definitely be making this again. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanelnb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a delicious Lentil soup! My husband commented several times about how good it tasted. I would recommend to others. We did make a few changes however to the recipe because of personal preference. Because we don't cook with alcohol, I substituted the white wine for 3/4 cup more chicken stock. I also grated the onion instead of chopping because our toddlers won't eat chunky veggies in their soup, and I added about two extra cups more lentils then the recipe called for. I think the soup turned out perfectly with out alterations. Thank you Gabriella for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This soup was absolutely delicious and very easy to make! I did make some adjustments, as follows: Instead of 2 large onions cubed, I diced up 1/4 of an onion. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I diluted 1/4 white wine vinegar in 3/4 of water. As well I sliced up half of a zucchini! Let a poster has said in an earlier review this is MUCH better the second day!! PS My meat loving husband went crazy for it, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madison Ayla

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I added ham, and held the salt since ham and parmesan cheese are heavily salted foods. I served this with rice. Either my family was very hungry, or this was a really good soup, because they had seconds! I gave it 4 stars because I didn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My boyfriend and I love this soup. It is easy and the ingredients are always in stock in our house. I substitute the chicken broth with homemade vegetable broth. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is really tasty. I wanted some meat in the soup so I added 1 lb. of sweet Italian sausage. It turned out better than I expected. I'll certainly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I was inspired by a lentil soup that I recently had at a local restaurant that had a bit of a "bite" to it. I added one diced green bell pepper, 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper, 3/4 cup of barley and 3 cups of chicken stock (to account for the addition of barley). I did not soak the lentils (just washed and drained) and needed to simmer for more than two hours for the lentils to become tender. The end result was magnificent. I dare say every bit as good as what I'd had in the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
OMG! Just made this for dinner with a few modifications based on what I had in the pantry. this soup is DELICIOUS!! I had 2 leeks left from Christmas dinner, so I subbed them for regular onions. I didn;t have celery - just omitted it. My husband isn't happy with meatless dishes so i added some diced smoked ham left from New Years! Did a full teaspoon of smoked paprika and 2 cans of brown lentils, drained and rinsed. It was AWESOME! this recipe is a keeper - thanks Gabriella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Violet-Muir

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Delicious!! Based off reviews, I added 2 cups lentils, 1 tsp. Cumin, 2 tsp. Paprika, 1 1/2 tsp. Coriander and extra garlic (4 cloves minced). I also used a can of diced tomatoes to make up the 3 1/2 cups crushed tomatoes. This soup is SAVORY! It tastes just as good as the lentil soup I buy freshly made at Whole Foods. Thank you, Gabriella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States