Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this and, basically doubled the recipe. I also added some chicken sausage, frozen spinach and smoked paprika. Really great cold weather one pot dinner. You don't need anything else besides some good bread. I am thawing the second half of it right now after we ate the first of it last week. Excellent taste and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Really simple with great flavor! Like others, I added more lentils. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
If I could I can put more stars. This is the best vegetarian dish, very tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I improvised a little with this recipe and it still turned out great. Grocery store was out of celery so I put a little celery seed in it. To be efficient and use all of what I opened, I used a full bag (2 cups) of lentils, a little extra chicken stock (1 box and 1 can), and a little less tomatoes (2 cans; also used diced instead of crushed). I also added smoked roast that we had in the freezer from when our freezer quit and we were trying to preserve the meat. It was a great addition. I just happened to serve this to my husband and some of his fellow farmers on a day the local cafe was closed due to the snow, and they approved. For those of you who know farmers, they tend to enjoy hearty meals. My version turned out heartier than the picture implied, with the chunks of tomatoes and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a great soup! The only thing I changed was white wine for red, my daughter and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good soup. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Would have given the recipe 5 stars but I did make changes. Doubled the amount of lentil beans, garlic and paprika (used smoked paprika) and also added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. Since my husband is on a very low salt diet, I did not add any salt and used homemade chicken stock that I had made with no added salt. To give the soup a less acidic taste and make it more flavorful, I added 2 teaspoons of sugar. I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty the soup turned out, especially since it was basically salt-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Hearty, Yummy. The wine and paprika really gives the flavor extra depth. Served it with crusty bread and a side salad. I served it when I had my Mom and Brother over for dinner one night. Everyone, even the kids loved it. Sent my Mom and Bro home with leftovers. Kids have already requested it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I liked it. Unfortunately no one else did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Delish!!! I used red wine and browned the onion in butter. Yummmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TabbyKakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watonga, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States