Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Excellent soup! I used red wine instead of white. I used small green lentils and cooked in pressure cooker without tomatoes for 20 minutes. I cooled down the pressure cooker under cold running water then I added the crushed tomatoes and some red pepper. I let it simmer for about 15 minutes on medium low and it was perfect! I have made this twice and I am sure I will make it often!! Family loved it. Thank you Gabriella for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was a hearty lentil soup, overall I'd absolutely add it to the bi-weekly menu. I'd change just a few things.. 1. Use whole (canned) tomatoes, instead of crushed. I personally like my tomatoes to be something I can bite into and know I'm eating it. 2. Increase the amount of celery to 3 and decrease the carrot to 2, or just buy smaller carrots. 3. I added bacon (5 pieces, diced) and that added a smoky flavor that hit the spot. But, I needed to add water to reduce the saltiness of the soup. Plus, I like my broth-based soups with a good amount of broth. Excellent soup base, you can dress it up or down for your taste, def should be added to your recipe box if you like savory and lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
My family loves this. I make it without the wine and use a combo of vegetable and chicken broth. Used smoked paprika too. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
We liked this a lot. It's definitely a make-again. In place of the cheese called for, I used a few Parmesan/Romano/Asiago (or whatever I have) rinds from the freezer. It's a fantastic way to use those up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
It turned out really delicious and healthy. I ate it for three days straight for lunch since the portion was huge. I was surprised it tasted so good that I didn't get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I love this recipe! This is the second time I've made it. I add some browned turkey keilbasa near the end of cooking. It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I must admit I didn't follow all the instructions. As we have a TONNE of yellow lentils to use up, I put in just over double the amount in. Also we had no celery so put in extra carrot. It turned out more mushy than soupy. I think lentil recipes can also vary depending on the type of lentils put in, and putting a mix of lentils may have improved things...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
this recipe was so good I have returned to the recipe again and again. I have made lentils in the past and I was suspicious of a recipe with tomatoes but it surprised me, delicious! I added mushrooms this time just because I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Excellent! Will def make this again. Didnt have wine and was still delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
We enjoyed this soup. I cooked it in the crock pot, and added 2 ham hocks for some extra depth of flavor, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. It needed a little more spice, but my family really liked it. It made enough to freeze as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States