Lemon Blueberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very moist and with the glaze, this is more like a coffee cake. (Use powdered sugar for the glaze and increase by 2 tablespoons to thicken or else it's too runny and will run right off the cake) It's VERY soft coming out of the oven, so once it's cooled, cover it and refridgerate for a few hours or overnight to let it set or it will break coming out. It sets up like a bread the next day. And this is one recipe where adding too much blueberries will work against you. I've tried 1 1/2 - 2cups and it was way too much. Ended up with blueberry cake and too much juice inside. As the recipe suggests, use 1 to 1 1/4 cups, no more. I have used frozen blueberries with no problem. Be sure to coat berries in flour (fresh or frozen) to prevent them from sinking too much. Most of them sink anyway, but a little flour does help. Use quality bottled lemon juice and it will taste just as good. With frozen berries, I had to bake for almost 70 min. I've also put a brown sugar struesel on top when I want a little extra crunch and sweetness. **Tip - in the last 10 min. of cooking, brush the top with some of the glaze and put it back in the oven. The bread absorbs the glaze in the oven and won't be too wet. Brush on remaining glaze once it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Wonderful recipe. Quick and easy to make and it's so good! The only I might change the next time is reducing the lemon flavor just a bit, so that it doesn't overpower the blueberry taste. I think the last time I made this, I had pecans on hand, so that was what I used. I think the nut aspect is a personal decision, whichever you want to use. This time, I have walnuts so that will go in it. I was thinking that using powdered sugar would be a good idea for the glaze the first time I made this and seeing a review from someone else with this suggestion means I will have to try that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
awsome loaf- everybody loves it! I will make a note to say to use fresh lemon juice, not the bottled stuff. I made it with both and the fresh is way better. The bottled stuff made it taste a little bland. I make it without the glaze and it is still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Kate
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Solid recipe. Good lemon flavor. The texture is more cake-like than bready. I did not use the nuts. The first time I made this recipe all the blueberries sunk to the bottom (even though I dredged them in flour) and a big chunk of the loaf stuck to the bottom of the pan. SO, the next time, I put only half of the blueberries into the batter, then poured half in the pan, sprinkled with blueberries, poured the rest in the pan and finshed off the top with the last sprinkle of blueberries. Turned out perfect. Both times I brushed on the glaze about 10 minutes after I took the bread out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I omitted the walnuts, added two cups of blueberries, and the zest of three lemons. This came out more like a cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
With a few changes, this bread is wonderful!! I used a little over 1 T. (3 lemons) zest and it came out just fine. I also put some milk, lemon juice, 2 T. butter (no dieting here!), and powdered sugar together for topping. This was put on just after coming out of oven, in pans. The bread soaks it in and helps loosen up any pan sticking. This will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was more like a cake and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This bread is great. It has a delicate almost cakelike texture and is super easy to make. If you want to use it at a bake sale then I recommend that you line the bottom of the bread pan wit h wax paper so it will release from the pan in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Delicious bread! It was so easy to make too! The only changes I made were to omit the walnuts and I used powdered sugar in the glaze instead of granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I just had my first slice of this ( I couldn't even wait for it to cool down!), and I just had to come on here and rate this recipe... It is phenomenally delicious!!! Because so many reviewers were raving about this "bread" seeming more like a cake, I decided to increase the recipe by half and bake it in a 9" round pan. I followed the recipe exactly, only doing a bit of improv with the glaze. Firstly, I kept the sugar/lemon juice proportions outlined in the recipe, the only thing I did was add a couple teaspoons of grated lemon peel to the sauce, then popped it in the microwave until it was boiling. I did this so that the glaze would be more like a syrup, and because it was so watery and grainy without being cooked. The added lemon peel makes the glaze taste just like candied lemons, and what I did was drizzle on top of the cake during the last 10 minutes of baking. The cake didn't come out soggy at all! In fact, the glaze I made soaked nicely into the top and created a delcious, slightly crispy and shiny glazing to the whole thing, with little flecks of candied lemon peel here and there... Truly, a lovely presentation and the taste is out of this world!!! It's lemony, but also very blueberry and the combination is dynamite! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States