Lemon Blueberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
A little too good to be true. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Loved this!! I have made 2 loaves since finding this recipe. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I liked the taste and the lemon but would add more blueberrys next time. Also I made mini loafs and I probably didn't cook long enough it was gummy inside next time will cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is a lovely loaf with a cake like texture, moist with lots of flavor. You could smell the lemon while it baked. I have a couple tricks though, that puts this loaf at 5 stars! First, add the lemon juice to the milk and let it sit while you prepare the other ingredients, this will make a buttermilk. Second, add the lemon zest to the sugar first and stir it around with a fork, this will release the lemon oils into the sugar and give it more flavor. If using frozen berries, toss the blueberries with a little flour to coat before adding to the batter, this way the berries will not sink to the bottom of the pan. I have made this several times following the ingredient amounts exactly and it always works out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Penhold, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe and my family absolutely love it. I didn't change a thing. The blueberries were plump and did not sink to the bottom. Enjoy it as it is so easy to make. This recipe rocks. Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bklein

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Really, really good breakfast bread! I used slightly less sugar (less than a full cup but more than 3/4 cup) I didn't add walnuts and used buttermilk as someone else suggested. I was struggling to get enough lemon zest so I added lemon extract as well. We all really enjoyed this! I also used powdered sugar in the glaze. Other than grating the zest, this recipe took no time at all and smelled wonderful while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Loved this recipe! I omitted the nuts and skipped the glaze because I wanted the lemon and blueberry to be the main flavor to have with my morning coffee. It was delicious and I can't wait to make it with the nuts and glaze, depending on the occasion. You could definitely tell from the flavor it was a homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
If I could give this 10 stars I would! I had to stop myself from acting the whole loaf lol! I used fresh lemon and fresh picked blueberries and it was amazing! The only minor changes I had to make were that I made a regular 10x glaze as I ran out of lemon, I used 3 T butter and almost 3 T applesauce, and no nuts. Thank you so much for this recipe! It will be a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have made five loaves so far and everyone loves it. The key is to have fresh lemons and don't be skimpy with the fresh lemon zest. Through trial and error I learned that for maximum flavor use the zest of one large lemon per loaf. This is baked in a "small" loaf pan. I have successfully doubled the ingredients for two small loaves. I have also used walnuts, as called for, and pecans, when I didn't have walnuts on hand. This is a great, flavorful quick bread recipe. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Great texture, very pretty, and when I first tried it last night right after I made it I thought wow this is very tart. Almost bitter. But after it sat overnight the flavors mellowed out. I think next time I'll use about a little less zest and juice, and use powdered sugar with the glaze. I'm eating this loaf with cream cheese though and it's delicious that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States