Lemon Blueberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have made five loaves so far and everyone loves it. The key is to have fresh lemons and don't be skimpy with the fresh lemon zest. Through trial and error I learned that for maximum flavor use the zest of one large lemon per loaf. This is baked in a "small" loaf pan. I have successfully doubled the ingredients for two small loaves. I have also used walnuts, as called for, and pecans, when I didn't have walnuts on hand. This is a great, flavorful quick bread recipe. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Great texture, very pretty, and when I first tried it last night right after I made it I thought wow this is very tart. Almost bitter. But after it sat overnight the flavors mellowed out. I think next time I'll use about a little less zest and juice, and use powdered sugar with the glaze. I'm eating this loaf with cream cheese though and it's delicious that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was so pretty and yummy tasting. Turned out beautiful and very moist. I omitted the nuts. Next time, I may use a little less lemon zest or juice as it was very lemony indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This bread is so, so moist and delicious! It tastes even better if you let it rest overnight so all the flavors mesh together. Makes a great coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Fantastic!!! Tried this recipe today and it was an instant hit. Only alteration was that I omitted the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Baked this yummy loaf this morning for Mother's Day using big, juicy cultured frozen blueberries. Mom's assessment said it all: "It's perfect!" Thanks Julianne for a winning, 'keeper' recipe that whipped up in a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlNextDoor
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I really liked this, but I don't think it was a hit with several others who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was a good recipe however, I could use help with adjustment for altitude! It came out more like a loaf of bread pudding. I did make a simple syrup of oj and turbino sugar to drizzle(excellent addition)! I also used organic wild blueberries (defrosted) and sunflower seeds (in place walnuts).It was great using different products on hand. Everyone ate it up.Take the risk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Loved the deep lemon flavor...great way to use up my frozen blueberries. Great with coffee when friends drop in. I'll definitely use this again. Make sure to use the right sized loaf pan. I have some bigger ones, but used the size recommended, which is more for a small loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I doubled the recipe, used pecans and baked it in a bundt pan for 70 mins. (This makes a LOT of cake) I mixed everything but the blueberries in my stand mixer. I folded the berries in right before turning into the pan and baking. They seemed evenly distributed and I didn't have any trouble with them sinking. I had no problem with it falling apart but, that could be because the bundt pan caused more even baking. I also used powdered sugar for the glaze. Since the glaze kept dripping off the cake I used a baster to put it back on. I think this made the cake super moist. It was a huge hit at Easter dinner. And, even better in the few days following. Everyone got a piece to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States