Lemon Blueberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is wonderful as written. I add extra lemon juice if I am not using fresh lemons and it is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Outstanding! If you love lemon and blueberries, this is a great recipe to kill two birds with one stone. It's simple, moist and delicious. 5 stars all the way! METHOD: the first time, I used 4 small loaf pans… either do in 3 small or 1 regular loaf pan as they were too "short". I stayed (mostly) true to the recipe. I did brown the butter for a "nutty" flavor (I do this a lot when baking cookies). I baked the loaves for 45 min and they could have been a tiny bit over done. I'd just calibrated my oven, so it should have been fairly accurate. Everyone's oven varies, so definitely do the toothpick test early on. I mixed 1/2 the blueberries in the mix then added half the batter to pans...added more blueberries...more batter and topped with the rest of the berries. I did dredge the blueberries in flour, as suggested, but i don't think it was necessary. Mine did not sink. I think the problem some people may have with sinking berries is from over-beating the mixture. Like cornbread, just beat enough to incorporate. I used both fresh and frozen berries because the fresh berries weren't very sweet. I used zest from 1 sm and 1 lg lemon, and had plenty of lemon juice left over. The first time I made this, I poured the syrup on top when I took them out of the oven and the next time, I pulled them out about 10 minutes early, poured the syrup on, then put the loaves back in the oven to finish. I preferred the former as the sugar came close to burning/hardening on edges the 2nd way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Easy, the family loved it. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was a favorite for a fundraising bake sale! I used fresh squeezed lemon juice. :) I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
These were great! I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup white and 1/4 cup brown. Made mini loafs baking for 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Made this last night and it is very good. "sweet but not too sweet and a little sour, but not too sour, good. I like it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I HATE ZESTING LEMONS! So I omitted that and just added more lemon juice. This was fabulous! I was worried that it wouldn't turn out because my oven turned off halfway through baking it and so I had to "re-bake" it. It still came out moist and delicious. I put vanilla Greek yogurt instead of the milk and used icing sugar for the glaze. I also mixed a tablespoon of flour with the blueberries so that they wouldn't sink and they didn't. I also didn't have any nuts but I don't think it was missed. I let the loaf cool completely in the pan and put the glaze directly over it - it's still in the pan now. Can't wait to have a piece tomorrow morning with a nice cup of Chai!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I love this bread and get asked monthly to make it for my coworkers. I always use fresh lemons,fresh blueberries and double sift the flour. The result is amazing! I never get the glaze quite right and am still playing around with that, mostly it doesn't need it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Delish! It was gone the night I made it. Powder sugar glaze made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Zieba

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I find it bland and would never make this again. Followed the recipe exactly, and used fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States