Lamingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Just like how my mum used to make them in Australia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
tops. lamingtons are a top Aussie icon, and the taste with this recipe represents us Aussies well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsville, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Delicious! The whole family loved these! Thanks for sharing these! I'm going to have to make these again and try them with the cream and also the strawberry jam in the center!! This is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Very very good. The first time I made themthey turned out great. The cake was wonderful. so was the chocolate. The second time I made them they were very good. One time the chocolate turned out horrible, tough as plastic, I had the chocholate's temperature too low and it like boiled into plastic. It tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Love Lamingtons! The only variation i make is slice the already sliced un coated cake and spread strawberry preserve on one sied of each, then put it back together like a sandwich and then coat it with the choc and coconut. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
These were really good and fairly easy to make since I used store bought pound cake because I didn't have time to make a cake. I served them at an Australian International dinner and one of the guests was from Australia. His only critique was the size. I made the pieces bite-size but in Australia, Lamingtona are about 20 cm square (4 inches)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I moved to a new city and couldn't find a bakery to supply Lamingtons. This was the perfect recipe and very easy to follow. Even with no Lamington making experience they turned out lovely. I found the baking time a little off. I followed the recommended time and it got a little well done on the bottom, but other than that it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I made them for a class and therefore divided the cake into 40 slices, which actually turned out great because I found the servings to be the perfect size and would turn it into about 40 pieces again. I tested the batch on my family before presenting them to the class and they raved! * I sliced the cake in half and spread a layer of strawberry preserves in the middle before sandwiching it and rolling it in the chocolate and coconut- I definitely recommend this addition! * I also found that I needed to double the amount of icing I made *I stored the cake in the fridge over night before adding the strawberry, dipping and rolling also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockport, Maine, USA
Living In: Weston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I used a vanilla cake mix, which I froze before frosting to prevent crumbling. Then I cut in to squares which I cut again crossways and filled with raspberry jam, before dipping in frosting and coconut. An absolute hit with my American work collegues. :) My mum used to "double dip" them, chocolate, coconut, then chocolate and coconut again. Messy but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
These cookies were a hit at a going-away party for a friend who is moving 'Down Under.' Delicious and relatively simple, although a bit labor-intensive with all the dipping and coating at the end. I found that the glaze did tend to cool too quickly and had to microwave it a couple times while I was coating the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States