Lamingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2000
boo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
These ended up tasting good, and my kids liked them, but I had a hard time making them. This is probably due more to my inexperience than with the recipe, but when I tried to dip the pieces of cake, they kept breaking off in the chocolate... Maybe some extra tips for us novices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
To paraphrase Marie Antoinette, this cake, properly presented, will most certainly be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I am from Australia and this is a great Lamington recipe. These are traditionaly served split in half with cream in the middle, just like Nana used to make, yum. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
It may help users to know that Australian colonial cooks used this recipe to freshen up STALE cake. Storing the cake overnight in a tin is sometimes not enough to firm the cake prior to icing. I suggest leaving it on the cooling rack, uncovered, on your kitchen bench overnight. This helps prevent the crumbling that one reviewer had problems with. Also cutting the cut into squares of not more than about 7cm helps. It is true that we Australians like to split the lamingtons in half and fill with whipped cream to make an old fashioned tea cake but some also like to split the cake before icing and sandwich the halves together again with a layer of strawberry jam. This is much easier to ice if your cake is quite firm. I have never met a lamington I did not like and this recipe is no exception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Great recipe. As an Aussie i have tasted my fair share and these were a hit at an "aussie themed party in vienna". i froze them before cutting and coating and it prevented any crumbling. worth giving a try again if it didn't turn out the first time. cut in bite size pieces for a party and freeze. can freeze with chocolate and coconut and take out in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
These cookies were a hit at a going-away party for a friend who is moving 'Down Under.' Delicious and relatively simple, although a bit labor-intensive with all the dipping and coating at the end. I found that the glaze did tend to cool too quickly and had to microwave it a couple times while I was coating the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I used a vanilla cake mix, which I froze before frosting to prevent crumbling. Then I cut in to squares which I cut again crossways and filled with raspberry jam, before dipping in frosting and coconut. An absolute hit with my American work collegues. :) My mum used to "double dip" them, chocolate, coconut, then chocolate and coconut again. Messy but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I made them for a class and therefore divided the cake into 40 slices, which actually turned out great because I found the servings to be the perfect size and would turn it into about 40 pieces again. I tested the batch on my family before presenting them to the class and they raved! * I sliced the cake in half and spread a layer of strawberry preserves in the middle before sandwiching it and rolling it in the chocolate and coconut- I definitely recommend this addition! * I also found that I needed to double the amount of icing I made *I stored the cake in the fridge over night before adding the strawberry, dipping and rolling also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockport, Maine, USA
Living In: Weston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I moved to a new city and couldn't find a bakery to supply Lamingtons. This was the perfect recipe and very easy to follow. Even with no Lamington making experience they turned out lovely. I found the baking time a little off. I followed the recommended time and it got a little well done on the bottom, but other than that it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States