Lamingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
these are awesome, we used a white cake mix, and let it get a couple of days old for easier handling. There is a small error in the recipe, the frosting recipe calls for 2tbls butter but the method calls for 2tsps butter. Not sure which is correct. I used the 2tsps but needed to add more milk to make it thinner. When we were growing up in the Boston area our local bakeries had these and called them icicles, the taste immediately brought back fond memories of having these at my grandmas house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svenco4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I quickly saw that the icing was not fluid enough. I warmed up a little more milk and added it to the icing. Also, my granny fork worked better than a regular fork. (The granny fork is sharp on the end - used to cut meat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Tasted like stale yellow cake with chocolate frosting. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
5-stars, per my Aussie friend. I had never heard of these but saw a photo posted and was intrigued. A close friend of mine from Australia was the recipient of these treats and he said they were spot-on. They brought back memories from being a little kid, hanging out with grandma & grandpa and getting these as treats. **The store I stopped at for coconut only had sweetened so I just toasted it a little bit in the oven to dry it out a tad and lose a little sweetness. Worked like a charm, as a substitute. **FILL with the jelly as other recommend!! That was the first question he excitedly asked me =) So sweet to see a 30-year old guy get excited about these little cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
After cooling my cake, I split it, spread with Strawberry Jam, put the top back on, and put it in the freezer overnight. I make my chocolate icing in the top of a double boiler to prevent the icing from forming a thin crust in between dipping chunks of cake. I like to make these with two people! I dip and drip and someone else rolls in coconut! Keeps my fingers clean too ;) I am a Canadian married to an Aussie and make Lamingtons on January 26 every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Greatly Australian tradition, Lamingtons are awesome... Im a fan since a kid... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seymour, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Mmmm so yummy, I made these after seeing communitychannel eat them lol. First of all, the icing in this recipe is extremely forgiving... you can just eyeball the measurements. I used less powdered sugar to make it less sweet and more chocolatey, and I added more milk... you want a somewhat runny, thin consistency for this cake! I highly recommend stirring in a heat safe bowl and then putting the bowl over barely simmering water (making a double boiler) to keep the icing melted and runny as you take your time dipping. The cake in lamingtons can be any generic sponge or butter cake; I used Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake right after it cooled and had no problem with crumbs! Also, this recipe is incorrect in using FLAKED coconut, which is waaay too sweet. Use DESSICATED coconut to perfectly compliment the flavor and make it a lot prettier/ the authentic Australian lamington.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
As some other reviewers have said, it's easier if you freeze/refrigerate before cutting and dipping into the icing. Just wrap in plastic and stick in freezer (I prefer refrigerator) for a few hours and you can make these the same day. As for the recipe itself, (1) use 2 teaspoons, of baking powder, (2) preheat and bake at 350, not 375 F, (3) bake for 25-30 minutes, (4) use a smaller pan, such as 8"x8", if you want cubes instead of flat rectangles. This was a very messy process, but after you coat them in desiccated coconut (not sweetened flakes), it looks delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
i just made this and to be honest, the chocolate-icing is REALLY sweet! I'll definitely make the cake again though! :) just with another chocolat glazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Add a twist to Australia's and New Zealands favourite cake. Make up a Raspberry or Strawberry Jelly when cool dip the cut pieces of sponge in the jelly and then roll carefully in the coconut and place on wire rack with baking paper underneath to catch drips. My mother used to make pink and chocolate lamingtons every sunday,when we were children over 60 years ago. Lamingtons can be tricky to keep intact, and if the sponge is too fresh they may fall apart. Try making the sponge one to two days ahead, or freezing it until you're ready,it's easier to cut into neat squares while it's still frozen,and after half an hour it will be the perfect consistency to start rolling in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States