Kitchen Sink Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
OMG - heaven! This is my favorite cookie. Ever. I did end up making quite a few changes based on other reviews and personal preference. For fear of these being too sweet based on prev reviews, I only used 1 C. brown sugar, then added 1/2 C. of splenda blend for baking. I also cut down the flour to 2 cups - 1 C. white, and 1 C. whole wheat. All other amounts were the same until I got to the chips. I omitted the vanilla and used a full cup of butterscotch. I also added 1/2 C. of coconut. These took about 9 mins in my oven, and they definitely don't spread much. So if you like a flatter cookie, you might want to squash 'em down a little. I can see how these could be too sweet using the full 2 C. brown sugar and all the chips in the original recipe. I also think using the whole wheat flour helps manage them being overly sweet, plus it gives the cookie a delish heartyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laugh42
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These cookies were very good. I do agree with some of the other reviews that they were a bit dry, so next time I would add less rolled oats. I also added 1 package of mixed semi-sweet chocolate and peanut butter baking chips. Everyone that tried them really liked the cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laugh42

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this for a quick get together and I think only half the batch made it. They are really good and it has everything in it from sweet, to nuts to filling ingredients. I followed the exact chip amounts and I think next time I will skip over the white chocolate pieces because my husband is not a big fan...maybe more chocolate chips and add peanut butter chips. I did not have problem with scooping and baking cookies either... I used a small melon baller and they cooked just fine. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Excellent cookie. I made it exactly as the recipe says. I don't love the flavor of butterscotch so I'm glad it was only 1/2 cup. I might even add less next time. I will also try toasting my pecans next time and leaving the pecans a little bigger next time but I like chunky cookies. All around good cookie for those who like cookies with lots of "stuff" in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
So yummy... I have some cooling right now and I keeping eying them to see when they're ready to munch on. Also, super helpful as a college student cleaning out my cupboards for the annual move home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
The only changes I made were using 1c of butterscotch chips & omitting the vanilla chips (b/c I'm not a fan) and omitting the pecans (so my little one could eat some but I think they'd be great). I thought these were INCREDIBLY sweet & I have a huge sweet tooth. My mom didn't think so but next time I'll definitely decrease the sugar by about 1/2c and maybe sub in half whole wheat flour & try decreasing the butter just a bit. UPDATE: I kept the batch I made in the freezer & we ate them slowly. They grew on me & I think they're quite good now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good! Although I would use some other flavor instead of the vanilla chips next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Even though I changed a few things, I still feel like I can give the original recipe 5 stars. I replaced the vanilla chips with Craisins, and used a flour blend which included white, whole wheat, and spelt flour. I also took out 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and they were still plenty sweet. These cookies are great - they have a lot of texture and flavor. I like my cookies thin and chewy, so I melted the butter and smushed them down a little bit when putting them on the cookie sheet and that worked perfectly. I'd like to not use quite so much butter... anyone have any ideas for that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These cookies were delicious! We all agreed that the cookie was high end bakery quality! I had prepared the dough earlier in the day, covered the bowl and placed it in the fridge. When I was ready to bake, I took the dough out and 'rolled' it into a log and sliced it 1/3" pieces. I initially baked for 9 minutes but they didn't seem done(probably because I had refrigerated the dough), so I baked additionally in 2 minute increments. After 13 minutes in my oven, I pulled them out and let them rest for 5 minutes on the tray, then transferred them onto a rack and were perfect! I didn't have any pecans so used walnuts instead, and were still great. Definitely recommend this receipe! THANKS CARA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Yummy!! Warning they are addictive! I used butterscotch chips (1 c) and caramel bits (1/2 c) because that is what I had. Turned out great!! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States