Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Now I love collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
OMG! I consider myself a collard greens connoisseur (family from the south) & I am known for my kick butt collard greens....but this recipe is TO DIE FOR!!! I took the advice of others and used more bacon & left out the olive oil and just used the bacon grease. Added 1 tblsp of brown sugar & a dash of apple cider vinegar & BOOM BABY!!! PERFECTO!!! Can't wait for everyone to get home for dinner tonight.I'm positive I will have to make more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Amazing best collard greens ever spicy and sweet! This must be cooked for atleast 3 hours like some of the other reviewers suggested. Also dont remove the bacon from the pot use that grease for the greens it makes it so much more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brent Normand
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
We have a bunch of collard greens in re garden and this was excellent. This time we making a bigger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Normand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was my first time trying collards. I made the recipe as written, just slightly scaled down to the amount of collards I had on hand. Normally when I make wilted spinach or kale, I cook it with bacon, so the ingredient list is pretty standard for me. The greens were good, with a nice kick of spice from the red pepper. Maybe next time I'll cook them longer and add the brown sugar that other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I've never cooked, nor eaten collard greens. This recipe is perfect as is. I watched the video and didn't change a thing! Of course, bacon, garlic, and onions make anything taste great. Will make it again with black-eyed peas and cornbread for a true southern treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
FANTASTIC. Though I did have to to boil off the remainder of the liquid to condense everything. The end product was amazing. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara McManaway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
It came out way too salty. Next time I'm going to try to make it with less chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Acebo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Loved this recipe. I like the fact that there is no vinegar in this recipe. Really nice collard taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
We live next door to an organic vegetable farm, and I never looked forward to getting their collards in our weekly basket---until I found this recipe. Now I look forward to getting them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 736) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States