Key Lime Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Made this recipe as given except for adding a bit of sugar in the crust. Thought the lime flavor could have been a bit stronger and the tartness was not overpowering. I used Nellie and Joe's bottled key lime juice. It didn't have the normal cheesecake texture though, more creamy like a pie. My family said it could use more lime flavor and a bit more tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I followed someone else's suggestion to replace eggs and sugar with sweetened condensed milk (I used the lowfat kind). I also added 1 c. flaked coconut to the crust and topped with flaked coconut. Amazing!!! All my friends raved - even ones who normally pass up dessert loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was a good cheesecake. I added a little extra key lime juice and wish I hadn't. It would have had lots of flavor with the recommended amount. I used the premade graham cracker pie crust which worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Although the cheesecake was a huge hit, I'm only giving it four stars. The cheesecake didn't have the normal "cheesecake texture." I think it was too creamy...more like a pie than a cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
A couple of things- I should have reduced the amt. of butter (as per other reviewers advice) because the paper liners were soaked! Another thing, I baked these as cupcakes and used a silicone muffin "pan" and they turned out SO weird! They did not bake/set all the way, whereas some bigger ones I made in ramekins were great. After 2 days, the silicone baked had firmed up. Either way, they all tasted DELICIOUS and boyfriend has already requested more for his bday in a couple of wks! p.s used regular limes as didn't have time to find key's, so they were not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Nearly as good as what I've had in the Keys!! Definitely tart, but a little whipped cream cuts that nicely. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
WONDERFUL!! I have made this several times and everyone that tries it LOVES it, even if they aren't big fans of Lime!! I like using the shortbread pre-made crust (2 of them) makes the perfect amount, nice shortcut and different taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Bake
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was an excellent cheese cake. I used key lime juice and cut it back to 1/2 cup. I also added a couple tablespoons of sugar to the crust. After baking I turned off the oven and left the cheesecake in with the door cracked for an hour then cooled it completely on the counter before putting it in the fridge. I did not use a water bath and had no cracks! IT turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good. I too cut back on the lime juice after reading other reviews. Just an FYI, one major reason for cheesecake to crack is cooling it too quickly. Along with baking it in a water bath, make sure the cheesecake has thoroughly cooled before putting it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Awesome cheesecake! I only used 1/2 cup of key lime juice and added 2 Tbsp. grated sweetened coconut to the graham cracker crumbs. Definitely bake with a water bath, mine didn't crack one bit! I didn't leave it in the oven afterward like the recipe suggests as I have a three year old and an open hot oven isn't the safest thing. Still the cheesecake turned out perfect! Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States