Key Lime Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was awesome. I started to use less key lime juice but tasted the batter and ended up using the full amount and it was the perfect blend of tart and sweet and full of flavor. I made 8 mini tarts as well because I knew I wasn't going to be able to wait until the following day to have some. I also beat the snot out of it with the hand mixer and didn't bother with the pan of water and it turned out beautifully-no cracks. And I licked the bowl clean, raw eggs and all... The only thing I left out was the zest-personal preference-but I made sure to use all the pulp from the limes. Next time I'll use a shortbread crust (not wild about graham) to have a milder flavor so nothing competes with the lime, but it's still a 5 star as it stands. Loved the lighter texture, not the typical ton-of-bricks cheesecake. Thank you, Bluekat, this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Made it exactly as the recipe stated, and it turned out excellent. I had eight people visiting for dinner, four who had never tried key lime anything, and four who were afficianados. All agreed that this was as good as it gets! I will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Followed recipe and it turned out perfect, yummy first time i made a Key Lime Cheese Cake. 5 Stars all the way, this is a keeper. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
GREAT RECIPE !!! BUT, I MUST ASK, WHY do people change about 5 or 6 things in a recipe & then say "This is a 5 STAR recipe" ???? I say, either make the recipe as written or don't rate it !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I made this for work and it was a big hit. A co-worker who was raised in Tampa loved it. I used flaked coconut in the crust per another reviewer's suggestion and less lime juice and it came out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I've never made a cheesecake before, so I was properly terrified going into this, but willing. It turned out great! I feel like now I can call myself a better-than-intermediate cook! Whole family loved it, very good lime-y taste and soooo creamy! Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wbanchero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this for a coworker's birthday and it was a hit with everyone who loved key lime! This recipe packs quite a lime punch, so I served it with whipped cream so that those who wanted it could have the extra sweetness. This recipe was a total success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Made this recipe as given except for adding a bit of sugar in the crust. Thought the lime flavor could have been a bit stronger and the tartness was not overpowering. I used Nellie and Joe's bottled key lime juice. It didn't have the normal cheesecake texture though, more creamy like a pie. My family said it could use more lime flavor and a bit more tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I followed someone else's suggestion to replace eggs and sugar with sweetened condensed milk (I used the lowfat kind). I also added 1 c. flaked coconut to the crust and topped with flaked coconut. Amazing!!! All my friends raved - even ones who normally pass up dessert loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was a good cheesecake. I added a little extra key lime juice and wish I hadn't. It would have had lots of flavor with the recommended amount. I used the premade graham cracker pie crust which worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States