Key Lime Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this and used most of the other people's changes. I think if you are going to add more cream cheese, as others suggested, you should not cut back on the lime juice. I don't think it was limey enough for my taste. Also, if you have a convection oven, you can cut back on the baking time quite a bit, even by 15 minutes, so the center is still very jiggly. It will set up perfectly in the fridge over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
My 8 year old and I had a lot of fun making this together. It came out pefect, was delicious and very refreshing. I'm so glad I did not buy one from the store containing hydrogenated or partially hydrogenated fats which are a health hazard, can't believe the FDA haven't banned them here yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is the best dessert. Ever. I made this for a family dinner and it was gone almost instantly. It was also the first cheesecake I have ever made and I was surprised at how well it turned out! Months later everyone is raving about it. This is a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I love this recipe! I was nervous about making a cheesecake for the first time for Thanksgiving dinner. It turned out beautifully. It looked amazing right out of the oven, and with some whipped cream and lime slices, it looked like it was right out of a magazine. And the taste!! It was the hit of the dinner. Very tart and tasty. Absolutely delicious!! I couldn't find key lime juice, so used regular lime juice instead, and added some lime zest to the graham crust. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter, and it was perfect. Definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Ok . . so I modified the heck out of it. I added 1 more pkg of cream cheese (4 total), 1 egg, 1 egg yolk, 1/3 cup sugar and a teaspoon of cornstarch so I would get a higher cheesecake. (I used Nellie and Joes's key lime juice and didnt change the amount). Absolutely wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This cheesecake is missing something, ... until you add a scoop of 'Cool Whip' to each slice. The thick, creamy cheesecake is very lime-y - however the light, fluffy cool whip balances the texture and the sweetness moderates the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
AMAZING. This was my first EVER cheesecake -- I brought it to a party, where it was gone in a flash! I received numerous compliments, including from a former cheesecake-obsessed chef. I used about 1/2 cup key lime juice and added lemon juice up to almost 2/3 cup. I upped the sugar to 1-1/4 cups. I left it in the oven for about an hour after baking, then refrigerated overnight covered in foil. It didn't crack and looked beautiful. I served it with whipped cream but the whipped cream seemed unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
So good. Just the right amount of lime. I couldn't find key lime juice, so I just used the bottled lime juice. I also used 1/3 fat cream cheese. It cracked a little, but oh well. Tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This gets a 4 because of my changes only! Yum!! I made this 2 days ago for my daughter's 18th birthday. She loved it! I did take some others' advice and added a 4th block [8 oz] of cream cheese. That was a good idea! It was still very tart! Also, I reduced the key lime juice by 1/4 cup. I didn't have any graham cracker crumbs on hand, so I made the crust myself from flour, sugar, a stick of butter and 1 egg yolk. Thanks for the great recipe! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti in AZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
If you are expecting a Cheesecake taste this recipe is NOT for you. It has the texture and look of a cheesecake, but a great lime flavor. This was so perfect on a hot summer day - I didn't change a thing. My fiance HATES cheesecake, so I lied and told him this was a type of Key Lime...he loved it. After devouring his 2nd piece, I confessed to the cheesecake but he told me this was one recipe he wanted on a regular basis! Thank you for sharing! The only thing I will do differently next time is to double the recipe so that it fills a 9" springform - I prefer a deep dish cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UKJESSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States