Key Lime Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was a great tasting cheesecake, and relatively easy to put together. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Oh my, this is sooooo yummy when some of the reviewer suggestions are incorporated into the recipe. I do add a 4th box of cream cheese (neufschatel, actually, although I once used a small carton of ricotta in place of the 4th cream cheese and that turned out good too -- lighter and with a little more grainy texture but still very nice) and so I add an extra egg and another 1/4 cup of sugar to compensate. I also do half key lime juice and half lemon juice to reduce the bitterness and freely zest an entire lime for lots of limey flavor. I get RAVE reviews on this one! Definitely my new favorite cheesecake recipe -- and I already had some pretty darn good ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This recipe is, as many reviewers have pointed out, a little bitter. To fix that, I drizzled raspberry syrup over it. That's a better fix than covering it in whipped cream, and it adds a nice summer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I've made a lot of cheesecake but this is the best so far. It was so tasty...it didn't last long at my house. This is a great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This was very good. My stepdaughter would have given it 5 stars but it was just a tiny bit too "limey" for me. Don't get me wrong I ate my fair share but next time I may cut back on the lime juice a bit. FYI: Serve with Whipped Cream to help cut the limey factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
the best cheesecake ever. I was fortunate to have key limes from a neighbor, the balance was wonderful. I even forgot to turn the oven off and let it sit, ended up baking it for almost 45 min. longer, but it turned out fabulous nonetheless. My husband loved the zest in the cake. You definitely need the whipped cream (get the real stuff, not Cool Whip) to balance out the tartness though. So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYSMILEZ
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
i halved the recipe bc i knew that it wouldnt fit in a pre-baked, 9inch pie pan otherwise. (was slightly below the edge of the pan) also, who knew key limes were so hard to squeeze???? i couldn't believe how little juice i was getting. so even though this was one of the only times i've 'zested' i found that easier so i put a bit more zest after giving up on the juice. cheesecake came out delish! the zest provided pretty little specks, much better than adding green food coloring. i kept it in the oven turned off for 30 mins, then let it cool on the stove for an hour before popping it in the fridge overnight. my past keylime cheesecake experiences have been with easier versions containing sweetened condensed milk. the quality is the same but the other recipe is easier so may just stick with that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Yummy! This was absolutely fantastic! I whipped cream with a few tablespoons of sugar and spread a thin layer on the top to counter the tang of the lime. I then pipped the cream around the edges to add some decoration to the top with slices of lime. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I cheated and used a premade crust and omitted the lime zest. Despite setting up well in the oven (and not cracking!), after being refrigerated overnight the end product was a little runny in the middle. Whipped topping is a must to balance the extremely limey taste of the cake! I will make this again (my husband liked it a lot) using less lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Loved it! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States