Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
VERY GOOD!! I made this in a 9” cake pan, using some jalapenos from Hubs’ garden. I used four jalapenos because they were sort of small, and I included most of the seeds. We didn’t find this to be too hot/spicy at all, so next time I would add more jalapenos and I’m tempted to add a small (2 oz.) jar of pimentos, drained, for a little more color. Definitely worth making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
It was just okay, will try a different recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I made this for some friends the other night. It disappeared in about 15 minutes. Afterwards my husband asked me to make him another one that our friends wouldn't eat on him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
As other reviewers suggested, I cut the sugar down to 2 tablespoons and added some grated cheese (I used pepper jack). I also baked this in a 10-inch cast iron skillet. I was very impressed with the end result. The corn bread sliced beautifully without crumbling and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Absolutely the best cornbread I've ever had, and ever made. I used a grating plate to grate the jalapenos, and I mixed them in with the wet ingredients just before I combined everything. So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texacaliutahgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I prefer a corn bread with more of a buttery taste, but these were very easy, and very quick. My husband really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I made this into muffins and baked for 18 min. I will definitely make some changes next time. I added all the seeds of all 3 jalapenos into the mix, and the muffins didn't come out spicy at all. Next time I will add more jalapenos, and Mexican shredded cheese to moisten them up and bake for less time; these came out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Very good recipe! I have found that it actually works better when you use the buttermilk substitute as opposed to actual buttermilk, for whatever reason. The substitute is 1T of lemon juice and enough milk to make 1 cup. Let sit for five minutes before adding to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Was very good, my family likes spicy so it had a great zing to it. It is staying in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Great jalapeno flavor! My only change to the ingredients was the amount of sugar as we tend to like our cornbread on the savory side instead of on the sweet side. I reduced the sugar to 2T. I left the seeds in 1 of the 3 peppers and will leave them all in next time. We thought a little more kick would be even better! Definitely use fresh jalapenos as the bright green color they produce is gorgeous! I also used a 10" cast iron skillet to bake in and it turned out great! Perfect thickness with a golden brown & crispy crust. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States