Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
OMG! This recipie rocks the vote! Just made it in my Cast Iron Skillet & wish I would have doubled this recipie because it was sooo good! I DID NOT de-seed the jalapeños, and I cooked 1/2 a small onion with some butter & sea salt till the onion was translucent, added it to the dry mix, then I shucked 1 ear of corn adding it to the dry mix along with 1/2 of a sliced orange, & red pepper and added them to the dry mix as well. This was very very nice looking with the green jalapeños, red, & orange pepper, yellow corn, And the cooked onions. When I added the wet mixture I just folded it in and stirred it till it was all incorporated. Great spice, full of flavor. 10 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Too course. Followed directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Love this!! Didn't change a thing about it...only that I used home grown peppers! Family LOVES it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccabutler1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Super easy. Cornbread wasn't spicy at all with the seeds removed, however. I might try leaving in a few seeds next time. We used muffin pans with this recipe and made cornbread muffins -- They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I love this corn bread recipe and so did my family and friends. I made two batches. The first just as the recipe stated. I only seeded one of the peppers to get that extra kick of heat. The second batch, I seeded Two peppers for those who don't want the extra kick, also I added 1-8 oz can of drained sweet corn, 1 3/4 cups of sharp cheddar cheese, 1/2 orange bell pepper, and one finely chopped shallot. I also used 1/8 cup canola oil and add enough melted unsalted butter to make 1/4 cup oil. Plus I used 1/2 teasp. salt to the second batch because of the corn. This recipe is so delicious and versatile. I can make delicious cornbread without the jalapenos or add to make something a little different. Thank You for sharing this great recipe. I am also telling my family and friends to look up Archie Timmons on Allrecipe to get this wonderful recipe. Adding less flour and more cornmeal makes this REAL cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Let me start by saying that I've NEVER made corn bread before. I followed this recipe and it came out PERFECT. The only thing I did different was pour it into a cast iron skillet to bake. I was very pleased with the results. And it was a big hit at the party too. The texture is perfect, the edges came out golden brown, just the way you want them. And with the seeded jalapenos, you get just the right amount of spicy kick, not green peppery, and not overly spicy, PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I used self rising cornmeal and flour to cut down on the number of ingredients. I also used canned diced jalapeños that I let drain on paper trowels. I liked that better than the fresh because the fresh didn't cook while baking. I also added 1/2 cup shredded cheddar to the batter and then sprinkled another 1/2 cup over top. Cheese makes everything better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
love this recipe it was the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Jally good. I made mine more Texican by adding one half cup of grated Monterey Jack cheese and cutting back the sugar to one tablespoon. Be sure and use coarse ground corn meal. Goes great with Chicken Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My first experience with jalapeño corn bread and I loved the flavor! The only thing missing is butter. I will substitute some butter for oil next time, and there will most definitely be a next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States