Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
If you toss the chopped jalapenos in with the dry ingredients before mixing with the wet ingredients they will stay distributed throughout the batter and not float to the top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was really good. I used a small can of jalapenos and made it into muffins. These babies were hot! I used 1 C cornmeal and 1 C flour, because that is what I had on hand, and they were the perfect texture. **Helpful hint: if you don't have buttermilk, put 1 tablespoon of lemon juice into your measuring cup before filling with milk and wait 5 minutes. It's an easy substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Yum! I used canned jalapenos and regular milk instead of buttermilk because those are what I had. And I added a bunch of 2% milk shredded cheese for extra kick and calcium. I like that it has a lot more corn meal than white flour. You get more corn flavor that way, instead of using more white flour and adding whole corn kernels. I've tried a lot of cornbread recipes, but many were to tedious or took too many ingredients or were too fattening or too dry. This one is none of those things and I am content with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Don't seed the jalapenos if you like a little heat! If you seed them, there'll be no spice. I sometimes throw in an extra jalapeno depending on the size. Be sure to toss the chopped peppers into the dry ingredients. You can substitute fat free plain yogurt for the buttermilk (same amount). It creates a very yummy, moist bread. I add 1 tbsp extra sugar, and a few dashes hot sauce to the wet ingredients, a few dashes of cayenne to the dry ingredients and add dry to wet at the end, combining until just mixed. For muffins, cook for 18 minutes at same temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this in a cast iron skillet and it was great. I will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Chief

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This is one of the two best recipes I've ever tried from here. These are AMAZING, and not to be missed. Severly underrated, try it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was great. I was a little worried that the sugar might be a bit much, but it was perfect. It turned out nice and fluffy and spicy, just like I wanted. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe, even after I substituted soy milk for buttermilk. I omitted the sugar because I do not like sweet cornbread and it was perfect for my taste. Also, I added extra peppers for more spice but next time I think I will include seeds for real kick! I cannot wait to make this using buttermilk, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Really good bread! I suggest not leaving it for more than a day or two. It doesn't save well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
LOVED THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States