Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. It has great corn flavor and texture. I reduced the sugar to 4 tablespoons because I like my cornbread a little less sweet. I also grated 1 clove of garlic into it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Followed the recipe to a T (with the exception of 1 extra jalapeno) and it was OK, but we didn't care for it much and wouldn't make it again. Biggest negative to me was the olive oil. The flavor of the oil came through very strong and would have much preferred a buttery flavor. Texture was rather crumby -- didn't hold together all that well. Lastly, Using 4 jalapenos (no seeds) added some flavor/interest, but we like spice and found it not at all spicy. If you like spice, you would probably want to do as other reviewers suggested and use the seeds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
If I could give 10 stars I would with this wonderful recipe. I used stone ground cornmeal and followed the recipe to the tee. It was fabulously delicious!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Hopper
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
was easy to make add in red pepper and two kinds of jalapeno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was great . . . sweet, spicy and it managed to NOT crumble! I did substitute canned green chilis for jalapenos. There is NO way that my household would survive jalapenos - although I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
excellent!! mixed peppers into batter instead of sprinkling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Perfect recipe. Thanks for the suggestion of putting the jalapeño in the dry ingredients, that made a perfect amount of jalapeño in each bite. Cooked this in my cast iron skillet. Preheated oven to 450 degrees, when oven was about 375 added skillet to preheat with a couple of tablespoons of bacon grease. Gave it a nice crunch on the bottom and slid right out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Simple and perfect! I followed the recipe exactly, except scaled it up 1.5x; and to add a little more heat I laid some thinly sliced jalapenos (fresh, no canned) on top before baking. That last step made for a great looking dish, and since this is a good one for a potluck it will let people know it has some heat inside. I may try adding a little whole kernel corn next time, but this was excellent as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I decreased the sugar by 2 TBSP. I added a TBSP of lemon juice to a cup of milk (and let it sit for 5 or so minutes) to make buttermilk, and baked it in a cast iron skillet. I've also made this without the jalapeños and its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States