Jalapeno Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Delicious!! It turned out perfect and I had everything at home. I used pickled jalapenos and it was still great. Perfect blend of sweet and hot. Will be my new go-to cornbread recipe!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily_s134

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made some serious adjustments to this recipe, but it turned out fabulous. I used 5 tablespoons butter vs. 4 T olive oil, 1/4 cup plain yogurt + slightly less than one cup buttermilk, 2 1/2 T sugar, 2 jalapenos + 2 chili peppers seeded, and 3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I melted 1 T butter in an oven safe skillet while oven was preheating and cooked the bread for about 25 minutes due to the extra additions. It was perfectly moist, not spicy, and got rave reviews at a family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
11/24/09-I was nervous about the amount of jalapeno, but this was great! I will definitely make this again! *I also used the buttermilk substitution of 1 tbsp lemon juice in milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Good/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Don't seed the jalapenos if you like a little heat! If you seed them, there'll be no spice. I sometimes throw in an extra jalapeno depending on the size. Be sure to toss the chopped peppers into the dry ingredients. You can substitute fat free plain yogurt for the buttermilk (same amount). It creates a very yummy, moist bread. I add 1 tbsp extra sugar, and a few dashes hot sauce to the wet ingredients, a few dashes of cayenne to the dry ingredients and add dry to wet at the end, combining until just mixed. For muffins, cook for 18 minutes at same temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I baked mine 5 minutes less so it wasn't too dry as others have said. But, I'll keep looking for a corn bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Not sure why but mine came out a tad bit dry. I'll have to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
The best! I accidently bought masa harina instead of flour tortilla mix a while back. I scoured the internet trying to find out if I could substitute masa harina for corn meal, with no definitive answer. I used it in this recipe, verdict: perfect! I didn't seed my jalapenos because I like the heat, and I used the suggestion to toss the jalapenos with a little of the dry ingredients before adding to the batter. I've always used cornbread mixes in the past, but once they are used up, I'll never buy another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This cornbread was pretty tasty but I probably wouldn't make again. I thought it was a tad dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
My family loves this recipe. I have shared it with an entire party of people and my husband's co-workers. I make it in triple batches in the summer and share it with everyone! Great way to use my garden peppers - even the spice wimps love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States