Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Followed the original recipe, using balsamic vinegar and olive oil (both the cheapest kind in the store). Tasted great! The oil separated out really fast, though, so I added a little squeeze of brown mustard as an emulsifier. Worked like a charm, and didn't detract from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I make this regularly..I use garlic powder instead of garlic salt and reduce the salt to one tablespoon of Himalayan pink salt...also use extra virgin olive oil and wine vinegar to make the dressing...it is wonderful! If we want more salt on our salad we simply grind some on. I use all organic spices, so what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Well Debby, I would unfortunately not rate this well, (although you were well intentioned). There is waaaaay too much sugar and waaaay too much salt in here. Salad dressing shouldn't taste sweet unless by fruit for a special dressing. We are all trying to be healthier so that much salt is not good. And unless you use something to bind it together, it is always going to separate and you will get straight oil on the top and will be forever trying to get the herbs off the bottom. Add some mustard and beat it up so it emulifies and will stay mixed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
A great recipe, however the Italians have never heard of "Canola" oil. Good Italian olive oil makes this recipe so much better and the Balsamic just adds to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al hatch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
super on my Pizza Pasta Salad!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
A pregnancy craving for Italian dressing over pasta led me here.. I've had this craving a lot and I've run out. I surprisingly had everything on hand (thanks to my spices collector husband) except for the celery salt, I wasn't sure how important it would be, but it turns out it was great without it! I also added some freshly minced garlic, for me. Just the powdered garlic salt just wasn't cutting it. ;) I loved this and I will certainly be making it more often! Much cheaper than buying it already made at the store, too! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRSBLUE1
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe with enough mix left over for a second batch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a really good recipe that can be adjusted to fit your tastes. My only changes were less salt and I used balsamic vinegar instead of white. I love this on pasta salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupOfNina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I follow this recipe exactly as written and use my Good Seasons bottle. Love this recipe - easy to make and tastes great. I combine all ingredients the day before I use it to get the best flavors. This is much better than buying the little spice packets at the grocery store - who knows what kind of preservatives and other additives are in there. Thank you for sharing, Debby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karib

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is very easy to make and it's light. This is my favorite dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States