Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This wasn't awesome, but I wound up liking it a lot. I've been buying various bottled Italian dressings for years, mainly out of laziness, and had never thought of looking for a mix recipe like this. I made this exactly as written - for the "dried thyme" I used thyme leaves instead of ground thyme, as I find both sold at my grocery store, and for the salt I used a sea salt. The bottled dressings I was used to have some kind of thickener, so I found this dressing, as prepared, unusually liquid, so after the first batch (2 tablespoons of dry mix, prepared per step 2), I omitted the 2 T. of water in subsequent batches, and liked the results a little better. The dressing is a bit salty, but I got used to it, and the flavors are not overwhelming, but pretty nice anyway. This is quite useful to have on hand for salads, and I may just make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was very fresh and delicious! I saved this one in my recipe box for pasta and garden salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this to use as a substitute for a packet of Good Seasons. I read the reviews after mixing all the dry ingredients in a bowl, and used some to season some chicken breasts before baking. To salvage the blend from being overly salty, I poured the rest of the batch through a FINE MESH colander. This easily removed the salts and sugar. I will keep this salt/sugar combo, to adjust the saltiness to my liking when I use it again. What was left in the colander was only the flakes of herbs. Made a test-sized portion of the dressing using only the dry herb blend, and oil and vinegar per the original instructions. After allowing it to sit awhile to reconstitute the dry herbs, I added less than 1/8 tsp.of the salt/sugar mix to the dressing, and found the flavor to be very satisfactory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I am rating this recipe as the recipe is given. It is so salty that it is inedible. It has got to be typo...maybe it is supposed to say 2 tsp of salt? But even that would be too much. Like others, I eliminated the salt and it is actually quite good, even for my picky Italian husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love love love this recipe! It is my favorite homemade dressing i have ever made! If you like Italian Dressing you are sure to love this recipe! Sometimes it is a little bit strong for little kids so maybe you would want to dilute it a little bit for them. To make it a little bit healthier instead of using Canola oil i use olive oil and instead of white sugar i use sucanat. i also use apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. and i leave out the celery salt because i don't have any normally and it still tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is the best homemade Italian dressing mix. You can easily vary the amount of water, oil, & vinegar to change the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Photo by The-FairLady
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I'm very happy with this mix and added my own ground dried tomatoes as well as ground vegetable soup mix found in the bulk foods section at Winco. I let it sit for at least an hour in the fridge and am looking forward to making some homemade Suddenly Salad with an extra sprinkle or two of the seasoning mix. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!! P.S. I added a photo of my vintage Good Seasons jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The-FairLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Very good! I used this recipe without any oil to substitute the Italian Dressing packet that was called for in the Italian Slow Cooker Beef recipe in this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Leave out the 2 Tablespoons salt and this goes instantly to five stars! But between the salt called for, the garlic salt and the celery salt, this is waaaayyy too salty (even for a salt love, like me!). Leave it out (the salt in the garlic and celery will be plenty) and this is the best mix ever! I use it in many dishes and have made it into a dressing using EVOO (instead of canola oil) and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I modified a little as I didn't have all the ingredients. I used an Italian herb blend and used red vinegar instead of white and olive oil instead of regular oil...and I squeezed a little lemon juice into it as well. YUMMY! I will use this to dress a cold chicken and potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States