Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Oh, so simple and it's always ready when you need the blended spices. I have not only used this mix as a salad dressing, but I use the dry mix for salmon, pork chops, chicken, roasts, etc. as a seasoning. I even use it in my homemade soups. Perfect spice blend. I do omit the salt, however. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I love this recipe. I actually use it to make Italian beef. I coat the roast in the spice blend, drizzle with a little olive oil and add 1 cup beef stock to the crock pot and let it cook slowly until it falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I used this in place of a packet of Italian dressing mix in my corn and bean salsa recipe and I wish I would have read the reviews about the salt - it was way too much - other than that I'll definitely be making this up in advance to have on hand again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Worked well! I also cut down on the salt and as I ran out of garlic salt I substituted with fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I have been looking for a great D.I.Y Italian dressing for a while and I FOUND IT! This was fabulous. I followed the recommendations of other reviewers and used only I tablespoon of garlic salt. I added an additional tablespoon of garlic powder (omitted onion powder, since I didn't have it). It tasted great immediately after making it; I can only imagine how it will taste tomorrow. I used this as a dressing for garbanzo salad (also from this site) and I almost ate the whole serving bowl of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was so happy when I found this recipe. I make it fairly often. The only changes I make are using canola oil instead of olive as I'm allergic, and celery seed instead of celery salt. I tried toning down the salt as some of the reviews have said but I didn't find it tasted enough like Italian dressing. I'm interested in how it would be as a marinade, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a good recipe if you use a FRACTION of the salt listed. I made it the first time without reading the reviews and had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
i cut the salt in half, but otherwise, this is a perfect replacement for recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I just made this tonight, and can't believe how similar it is to the store bought italian dressing packets (I usually go for good seasons myself). I used garlic powder, onion powder and celery seed instead of the salts. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5, because I think it might need a little tweaking, the taste is spot on, but there are a lot of dried flaky herbs in this recipe, so it ends up being a really leafy salad dressing, I am going to try and eliminate the parsley (because IMHO it doesn't have much flavor) and maybe reduce the oregano to 1 T and see if that is any better, also the celery seed is a bit iffy to me, I might try and leave that out next time as well. Thanks so much for this recipe, it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States