Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very Nice! Just like everyone else I eliminated the salt. I also used garlic powder not garlic salt {I don't care for salty taste} I did use the celery salt and I added 1 tablespoon Parmesan. Best made the day before so it all blends together. First time I used red wine vinegar, good. Next time I used balsamic - better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is delicious, but I left out all the salt except for 1/2t celery salt. I can't imagine what 2 TBLSP salt would taste like! I also left out the thyme (don't like it dried). I used it for the Artichoke Salad and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
It a shame we salt our food before even taste it so I dropped all the salt from this. But I add to this celery flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzzenne Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Excellent! A lot cheaper than purchasing Good Seasons dry mix! Very nice mix of herbs and seasonings. I added a bit of garlic salt and reduced the plain salt to 1 tablespoon. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Shaler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Marcy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Great flavor! The dressing needs a bit more oil when mixed but it's yummy. It separates quickly though so be sure to shake well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This really is a great dressing mix. I looked it up this morning because I was making the "Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue" and I had neither the BBQ sauce nor the Italian Dressing (I made both from scratch and was very pleasantly surprised, as I mention in my review for that). I mixed up the dry ingredients as stated, and then I tried tarragon vinegar instead of the recommended white vinegar. This was really tasty. I can see why it has so many good reviews. I added some this morning to a Chuck's Famous BBQ Sauce I found elsewhere for the Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue, with my own variations on Chuck's sauce--to lessen the sweetness--and I was very happy with the results. From now on, when I need Italian dressing, I'll just refer to this one. Oh, I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to leave out the 2 tablespoons of salt. I agree that it wasn't necessary for my tastes. Others might prefer it though. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I will never buy store bought Italian dressing again. This is such a good recipe...it makes me want to eat more salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I was very happy to find this recipe. I made just as directed and thought it was great. I have not used it to make dressing for salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I love this recipe, I make it all the time, with different kinds of vinegar but my favorite is balsamic. However, DO NOT use 2 tablespoons of salt!! That is WAY too much, and I'm pretty fast and loose with the salt shaker. It has to be a mistake. And also, I tried making this with olive oil but it congeals too much in the refrigerator so stick with the canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This wasn't awesome, but I wound up liking it a lot. I've been buying various bottled Italian dressings for years, mainly out of laziness, and had never thought of looking for a mix recipe like this. I made this exactly as written - for the "dried thyme" I used thyme leaves instead of ground thyme, as I find both sold at my grocery store, and for the salt I used a sea salt. The bottled dressings I was used to have some kind of thickener, so I found this dressing, as prepared, unusually liquid, so after the first batch (2 tablespoons of dry mix, prepared per step 2), I omitted the 2 T. of water in subsequent batches, and liked the results a little better. The dressing is a bit salty, but I got used to it, and the flavors are not overwhelming, but pretty nice anyway. This is quite useful to have on hand for salads, and I may just make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States