Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was delicious, BUT WAYYYYY too much salt! I only used 1 tablespoon as opposed to the 2 it calls for and it was not edible. I'm going to try again with no table salt and do 1/2 tablespoon of garlic salt and 1/2 garlic powder instead. I figure you can always add salt but you can't take it out! Great flavor otherwise though. Someone really needs to edit this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Oh, so simple and it's always ready when you need the blended spices. I have not only used this mix as a salad dressing, but I use the dry mix for salmon, pork chops, chicken, roasts, etc. as a seasoning. I even use it in my homemade soups. Perfect spice blend. I do omit the salt, however. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I love this recipe. I actually use it to make Italian beef. I coat the roast in the spice blend, drizzle with a little olive oil and add 1 cup beef stock to the crock pot and let it cook slowly until it falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I used this in place of a packet of Italian dressing mix in my corn and bean salsa recipe and I wish I would have read the reviews about the salt - it was way too much - other than that I'll definitely be making this up in advance to have on hand again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Worked well! I also cut down on the salt and as I ran out of garlic salt I substituted with fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I have been looking for a great D.I.Y Italian dressing for a while and I FOUND IT! This was fabulous. I followed the recommendations of other reviewers and used only I tablespoon of garlic salt. I added an additional tablespoon of garlic powder (omitted onion powder, since I didn't have it). It tasted great immediately after making it; I can only imagine how it will taste tomorrow. I used this as a dressing for garbanzo salad (also from this site) and I almost ate the whole serving bowl of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was so happy when I found this recipe. I make it fairly often. The only changes I make are using canola oil instead of olive as I'm allergic, and celery seed instead of celery salt. I tried toning down the salt as some of the reviews have said but I didn't find it tasted enough like Italian dressing. I'm interested in how it would be as a marinade, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a good recipe if you use a FRACTION of the salt listed. I made it the first time without reading the reviews and had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
i cut the salt in half, but otherwise, this is a perfect replacement for recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States