Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Good basic recipe. I made this so I could use it for cooking chicken for the slow cooker chicken stroganoff on this site. First time I did the recipe as it stated and it was too salty. Second time around I omitted the extra 2tbs salt and it was perfect. Will keep this on hand for dressing and cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very delicious..... I used olive oil instead of canola oil... I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt....... I made yesterday..... My husband loved this dressing....... Will make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great flavor but if you make too much, and let it sit until you use it again, it gets WAY too salty. Also, having to measure water and canola oil each time was kind of annoying. But, this was the best mix that I've found that was close to storebought. Did not use it as a marinade, but I bet it'd be awesome. I followed the recipe exactly and the only plan to change next time will be to substitute the garlic salt for garlic powder, omit the 2 teaspoons salt, and just have the celery salt as the salt ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayci_3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is much better than bottled Italian dressing. Only problem is that I just ate a gallon of salad because I kept wanting more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I added 1/2 t cayenne for zip. One reviewer chose to use Olive oil. I choose to support the farmers of my country and use only Canola for everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Too much salt!! Try adding some bell pepper flakes or the red and green bell pepper spice. It's a good basic recipe BUT TOO MUCH SALT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I just made this mix and my husband loved it. I am not going to buy salad dressings anymore because you don't know what is in them. I didn't use garlic salt but just garlic powder because my husband has high blood pressure. I only used 1 tbs of salt. I used 1/3 cup of olive oil and 1/3 cup of canola oil, I used the white vinegar but also added about 1/4 cup of basalmic vinegar. It is really good and will have this be my go to italian salad dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good! Much better than bottled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This recipe was not the best. Kind of bland. I won't be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniluvs2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was delicious, BUT WAYYYYY too much salt! I only used 1 tablespoon as opposed to the 2 it calls for and it was not edible. I'm going to try again with no table salt and do 1/2 tablespoon of garlic salt and 1/2 garlic powder instead. I figure you can always add salt but you can't take it out! Great flavor otherwise though. Someone really needs to edit this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States