Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is wonderful, easy and delicious! Due to the number of recipes I was juggling at once and the coolness in my kitchen this time of year, I did the 40-minute warming in my oven's warming drawer which was set to medium. (The oven itself was also on.) Because I was using my warming drawer, I allowed the loaves to rise directly on the baking sheet which had the cornmeal on it. This worked great and I was VERY pleased with the results! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This has been my go to recipe for year. I thought it only fair to give it the rating it deserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Definitely a very good recipe. I followed the directions exactly except moving the loaves. They rose on the baking sheet, I just didn't see the point in moving them. The one issue I had probably has more to do with my bread machine than with the recipe. I bought it at a garage sale, no manual. It's an old, 12 cup capacity Mr Coffee Breadmaker. I'm pretty sure that the dough cycle includes a second rising. Since I followed the recipe directions, I allowed the cycle to finish, meaning that the bread was "punched down" twice. Bottom line is that my loaves turned out a bit more dense than what I would consider "perfect", but they are pretty darn close. This recipe will definitely be my go-to. It's simple enough and inexpensive enough (how nice to come across a recipe for which I have every ingredient on hand) that I can afford the time and money to "tweak" until I get the perfect loaf of my dreams. I'll update with success and failures, especially for owners of the Mr Coffee Breadmaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Very good! Followed the recipe exactly and got 2 nice loaves of bread with a beautiful shiny crust. Will definitely keep this recipe to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was excellent! I let it rise on the baking sheet so it wasn't moved, and did not add any egg or anything on it. I slashed the top and it helped it rise more. After I cooked it mostly, I let it cool a bit and then cut it halfway through into almost slices, spread garlic butter in it, wrapped it in tin foil and baked it for another 10 min. Ahhhmazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Winter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Tasted fabulous. I do not have a bread machine so I just did everything by hand. Turned out excellent!!!! Definitely staying in the front of my cookbook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I had a lot of fun making this recipe. I added garlic powder, italian seasoning and parsley. I cut it in four pieces and twirled 2 together, making 2 lovely loaves. The first was devoured in less than 10 minutes, and I had to hide the second one to save for dinner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I love tis recipe! I kept thinking they left out some steps it was sooo easy. I did proof the yeast and added the other ingredients except flour and salt. I put the liduid in the bottom of the bowl and then dry on top. Worked like a dream. I recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veryspoiled1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
My bread turned out rather dense and flatter than anticipated. I used half bread flour and half all-purpose, and otherwise stuck to the recipe as written. The only exception I made was to allow it to rise an additional 15 minutes (gave it a full hour). The dough looked perfect once put onto the cornmeal-dusted pan for that final rise. It rose, but I'm thinking that the dampened dishcloth was maybe too heavy, and perhaps I should have used a piece of greased plastic wrap or parchment/wax paper instead. Or maybe brushing on the eggwash was the issue. If I make it again, I'll try using something lighter than the damp dishcloth and will maybe look for an alternative to the eggwash. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Gothic Chef
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I just made this. It is DELICIOUS!!! Perfect Italian bread! I also added sesame seeds. Mmm hot out of the oven with fresh butter. Just right! Thank you! I will make this again. And I did make it in my bread machine putting the ingredients in order of my instruction book! I will use this to make French Toast tomorrow for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gothic Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States