Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made these tonight and filled then with seafood chowdah! I made 6 bowls instead of 8 and added 3 minutes extra to the baking time. (33 minutes total) I placed them all on the same sheet and they did bake together but it wasn't a big deal, I easily cut them apart. I also baked them for the first 15 minutes while my oven was pre-heating and THEN brushed them with egg wash so they would be set in their shape. They were perfect. I make bread a lot, so I eat all types of flavors/types and I thought these were a perfect base for a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmGirlShelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The only changes I made was that I added 1/4 teaspoon of sugar, and separated the dough into 4 bowls, not 8. 4 bowls, give a nice cereal bowl size, that easily holds about 1 to 1 1/2 cup of soup. Easy to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I always bake mine inside oven safe bowls (then serve them in similar bowls) that way they have the perfect shape so the kids cant punch through them with the spoon and make a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Not sure what I am doing wrong, I've made this recipe 2 times now, each time my bread bowls do not rise. No clue what I am doing wrong. I made 6 bowls instead of 8 as stated in recipe. Any clue what I am doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
hmm, I don't know what went wrong. I make all kinds of breads. This recipe went flat on me. NO Bowl for me!! I made 6 instead of 8 but that should not have matter. I added sugar to the water for the yeast and it sat for 10 minutes. Nice and bubbly. It rise nice for a hour and on the pan. No clue what happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I made this recipe for the 1st time today. I would make 6 bowls instead of 8, add more salt, and not as much flour. I thought the recipe worked well but, for me, the bread was too dense and lacked flavor (I'm at a little over 3, 000 ft. elevation). I hope to try this again with these revisions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Excellent size - almost a tad excessive, in fact! Delicious crispy crust, very good texture... these bread bowls are a WIN in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeyWind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I am a complete novice when it comes to bread, this was such an easy recipe I too made 6 bowls rather than 8 simply because i was cooking for 6. My husband and kids raved about them even the fussy one who refuses to eat the crust off bread ate the whole bowl......:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These turned out gorgeous and everybody raving. I added a little garlic powder and oregano to mine and only made 6. Very dense inside, delicious straight out of the oven and the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States