Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I make bread a lot and was very disappointed in this. For one, I should have listen to other reviewers and made 4 bowls and not 8. As is, this recipe makes for very tiny bowls that are fairly flat and not suited for soup. The bread was also very bland. Spices are definitely needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Good although they did flatten some but still goodfor soup bowls. I added italian seasoning, a pinch extra yeast, a tsp. Sugar to feed yeast, 1 tbls butter and garlic powder to the egg wash which created a wonderfully subtle aroma while enjoying my broccoli cheese soup. (Also on this site) my husband liked them both as did my 11 month old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe, served it with potato soup, my own special recipe. Company loved it every bit as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Hopper Coggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kayla
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great EASY (and tasty) recipe. Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Won't make these again. I made 6, which was the right size for us. They seemed pretty tasteless for some reason. Biggest problem I had was how "stale" they were on Day 2, even after being kept in a plastic bread bag over night. Can't imagine how bad the 2 in the freezer will be. Will have to make toast out of those, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
this is a great basic recipe that can be seasoned to your own liking. I made half the recipe. They came out awesome! Will definitely be making them on a regular basis. It cracks me up when people mention that they are too time consuming. The active work on this is minimal. The end result is amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great base recipe! I added about 2 tsp of granulated garlic and 2 tsp of dried rosemary. Served with broccoli cheese soup, great match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
It's a reasonably simple recipe for very basic bread bowls, but this doesn't even come close to making 8 reasonable bowls. I cut it down to 6, as other reviewers suggested, but even then they felt too small to be useful for a dish like soup. If I try the recipe again I wouldn't make more than 4 bowls out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I was very disappointed. I wanted a nice bowl as depicted in the photo. What I got was a flat piece of uneatable bread. I followed the directions exactly and it was a mess. My yeast was new, the water was 115* the flour was good, everything was ok until the division into separate balls. I'll be looking elsewhere. sorry it was very bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Super easy. Made the dough in my bread machine. Proofed the yeast first in sugar water, added the rest of the ingredients (used bread flour) and started the dough cycle. After my dough was kneaded, I removed it and let it rise in the oven with the light on with a steaming bowl of water on the bottom rack. After first rise I followed the rest of the instructions, but omitted the first egg wash. I spent maybe 15 minutes of time prepping these, not time consuming whatsoever! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States