Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious!! Turned out perfect. I read the other reviews and skipped the first egg wash. I also made larger bowls by splitting the dough into thirds. Perfect with my homemade clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Unbelievably delicious, and exactly better than any paneria. My family and guests raved. I agree with the tablespoon sugar into the yeast mix and also make 7 bowls, not eight. I'm not sure all the cornmeal didn't just drip off with egg-white. Why not stir in the cornmeal into the egg-white mixture?? Baking it to a crusty brown is the way to go and serve with soup while they are still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T, but they flattened when I baked them in the oven. They were hard on the outside and still doughy inside. The egg wash made them brown too quickly and they looked nothing like the picture. I was really disappointed. I guess I'll keep looking for that perfect bread bowl recipe. D:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chococupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Awesome. Just learning how to make bread and these were so easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I have wanted to make these for my wife for some time. I read other reviews and opted to change the recipe slightly to add more flavor. I added honey for a sweetener (1/8-1/4 cup) as well as substituting a garlic salt for the salt in the recipe. After brushing with egg white I also added a light coating of garlic powder and oregano. I was thrilled with the flavor as it did not overpower the soup but complimented it. My wife really liked the flavor of the bread and ate the whole thing. I cut dough into 6 pieces instead of 8. This was fine but if you are adding a side salad you may not want to do this. If you have some really hungry people I could see cutting to 4 bowls. Overall I was very satisfied and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Awesome, awesome. Made creamy basil tomato soup to go with and a potato bacon soup. Takes a lot of time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Worked well. These were easy to make with a little time. I did divide them into four bowls instead of eight. Eight would have been too small of a bowl. Also if you want a crusty out side use the egg wash if not don't use egg was and rub butter on tops after removing from oven, they will be soft. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and make 2 larger bowls for my hot spinach artichoke dip! The bread is nice and dense and holds up well to this! I usually use quick rise yeast and I can bake the bread in the time I am preparing my dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roonie70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made the recipe pretty much just as it was written. It turned out fantastic! The only change I made was instead of 8 bowls, I made 6 (which increased the baking time a little bit). Overall, this made them the perfect dinner size. The bread itself is a little flat-tasting, it could use about 1 tsp more salt (for a total of 1 Tbsp). But with the soup inside, it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
good flavor but did not rise into a nice round bowl shape for me! Will try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States