Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made this into two large bread bowls for dips I planned to fill them with. I did sub a cup of whole wheat for the white, and added 1 tablespoon of wheat gluten to ensure the dough rises well. I sprayed oil and sprinkled cornmeal into two 8" round pans, and then let the two large dough balls do their final rise in these to prevent them from spreading too much and flattening out. Skipped the first egg wash. Baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Turned out very nice; the round loaves were each 4" high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
These turned out beautifully! For a real treat, fill with the Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup from this site!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
The best way to eat any soup... incredible... bread bowls are really good but oh so filling... I don't know how anyone could eat these... if they make 6 out of this recipe.. althouh they might be a better size for a bowl... there is no way to eat it all... my dough was a little soft... I think if I added a little more flour they may hold there shape better... it would also be nice if there was some form for the bowls to rise in to keep them from spread... but other wise these worked very well... excellent way to serve any soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Worked well for me, but was hard to shaped as they flattened as they were rising. Served with stew and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magob
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
following the recipe as is, the bread is very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Wonderful. This was my first attempt at bread. I usually make cakes. I really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to follow. I did add sugar to the yeast, used bread flour instead of all purpose, and olive oil as per other reviewer suggestions. I did the Alton Brown method for rising dough and it worked perfectly. I didn't have a problem with the bread flattening out. I did egg wash as directed and they came out beautiful. Served with Chicken Broccoli Cheese Soup. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Great Italian bread / soupbowl recipe! We used the bowls as soup bowls, cut up as a dipper for spicy baked beans and tonight we are making garlic bread. Yummm! I look forward to making these again real soon!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I prefer a crispy crust versus the chewy crust that this recipe produces, but that can be easily remedied. Perfect with broccoli cheese soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These were not ideal for bread bowls. I changed nothing in the directions but still ended up with sorta flat bowls. Also the recipe states it makes 4 but really it makes only 3 mid sized bowls, which held about 1 1/2 cups stew. Thanks for the idea but I doubt I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypinktulips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were amazing!!!!!!They are easy to make- I followed other reviews and made 6 instead of 8 and that is perfect. Topped mine with some flax seeds and kosher salt I will be making these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States