Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I like to butter and toast the 'pull-outs' and serve along side for dipping. Sooo good. Also definitely add a bit of sugar to yeast and either spray water in oven or, like others have said, place a small container of water in bottom of oven to create steam for crispness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
To be fair, the 2 star rating is probably more a reflection of my ability than the recipe itself. It's my first time making bread, really. My "bread bowls" turned out to be hard, very dense...rolls. They didn't rise one bit, and I followed the directions as written (except for letting them sit for much longer, hoping they would start to rise). I baked until the outside was golden brown, but the inside didn't seem fully cooked--and very tough and doughy. I'm pretty sure my error came in with the mixing and/or kneading of the dough because it was very dense from the beginning, as I was adding the flour by 1/2 cup to the bowl. Maybe I added too much flour and/or overmixed. And I just read another review that said I shouldn't use a hand mixer? News to me, I thought that's what the recipe was talking about. I used mine, along with the dough hooks that came with it. So, I"ll try this again...someday...once I get my morale back. :) This was a little time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I just made these and they look wonderful-haven't eaten them yet but if they taste as good as they look, they are going to be wonderful. I did add about 1 tsp. of sugar cause I thought you need sugar and salt to cause the yeast to react. Also, I only needed about 6 and 1/3 cups of flour, not the seven cups. baked a total of 25 minutes @ 400 degrees. I am filling them with vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made eight of these, and thought that they were the perfect size. I did add 1 Tsbp of sugar to the dough to help them rise a little better, and it worked perfectly. They baked up beautifully, and tasted delicious! I'll make these over and over, because my family and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Mine sure didn't look like the picture. Baked 15 and were perfectly cooked. Found the taste was rather bland. I wouldn't bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Great recipe as written. I noticed several reviews recommended making 6 bowls instead of 8, saying 8 was not big enough. So I made 6 too. They were huge. I think 8 would have been a much better size. Next time I'll stick with 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Robertson
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my first time making bread bowls and these turned out gorgeously. I made 5 bowls out of this which came out perfectly sized and to the egg white wash i added basil and oregano to give it that italian kick. Great Recipe will use again and recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Robertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very good soup bread! It spread out some when baking and wasn't as tall as I would have liked so I'm going to try baking in oven safe bowls of some type instead of on a cookie sheet next time to try to get a higher bread bowl. Great texture, thick hearty bread. Added garlic powder to batter and on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Added some garlic powder to give them some flavor. They turned out great but were a *little* flat and here's why. After you let them raise for the 2nd time-- DO NOT TOUCH THEM! Touching or moving them after the rise makes them flatten. I had to move mine apart because I initially placed them too close together and they got stuck together as they rose. When I moved them, they flattened a little. I tried covering them to let them rise again and it didn't work. So-- my advice... when you place them to rise on your baking sheet, make sure that they are spaced well so that you don't have to touch them before baking! I found it tough to do this (give them the space they needed) and still have room for all 8 to fit in one oven. I placed 2 per baking sheet and only had three racks in my oven. So next time I will only make 6. Even though they flattened a bit, they still came out great and were able to be shaped into bowls. Worth the effort but I definitely won't be making them often! (very time consuming)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This are great when they are fresh out the oven, not as good the next day. I made 6 instead of 8 the size was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States